I Can Write About Anything and Get Paid For It.

Wait, really?

Cheney Meaghan
4 min readMar 14, 2019

Sometimes, I’m a little slow on the uptake.

Or else, I just hold myself in denial, a denial that is mixed with fear and imposter syndrome that keeps me from writing the stories that are in my mind and heart, screaming to get out of me.

Yeah, it’s definitely the fear.

Fear that people I know will read them and judge me for the things I’ve thought and done in my life.

Fear that my family will find my writing and disown me for not being the person they’ve always thought I am.

Fear that my words will fall on deaf ears after putting so much time and energy into telling the stories that are so hard to tell.

Fear is the number one killer of creativity for me.

But it has to stop, because for some reason, after a year of writing on Medium and steadily doing better and making more money through the Partner Program, it clicked in my head last night.

Holy shit.

I can make money here writing whatever I want.

I AM making money here writing whatever I want, and I want to make more.

--

--