CS371p Fall 2019: Michelle Cheng

Michelle Cheng
2 min readSep 1, 2019

--

Hi there, and welcome to my first blog post for my object oriented programming course!

I’m Michelle! I’m currently a 3rd year student at the University of Texas at Austin. After taking AP Computer Science in high school, I added computer science to my list of fun things I might want to do for a living, and am now pursuing a major in computer science.

I took object oriented programming because it looked helpful and interesting. It seems like one of those classes in which what you learn can be applied to a broad spectrum of programming topics, because it’s teaching you a way to code rather than a single subject, if that makes sense. I hear that we will be learning a lot of C++ in this class as well, which I am excited for.

I like that Professor Downing takes notes for us, although of course I will take notes for myself as well. The cold calling part of class will be uncomfortable for me, because I don’t like talking in front of big groups of people. However, all throughout college I have had the problem of not being able to stay focused during lecture (unless it’s for a scary class like operating systems) so this method will be very effective in keeping me engaged in class.

I also would like to conclude with a tip of the week for my fellow classmates. If you have something you really want to do or some event you really want to go to, but your excuse for not going is that you have to study, then you should just go to sleep later. I also need to follow this tip!

That’s it for now! Thank you for reading my post!

--

--