Volume 11: Self-written dialogue fill-in-the-blank exercises in English for senior high school students

English Learning
9 min readNov 8, 2023

--

Self-written dialogue fill-in-the-blank exercises for senior high school students

1 . Lin Tao: Good morning, Doctor.

Doctor: Good morning. ! What’s the(1) m with you, young man?

Lin Tao: I’ve got a (2) h and a cough, I’m afraid I’ll be (3) d .

Doctor: Don’t (4) w . It’s nothing serious. Have you taken (5) t ?

Lin Tao: Yes, I have. (6) B I haven’t got a fever

Doctor: How long have you been like this ?

Lin Tao: (7) E since last night.

Doctor: Let me look (8) o you. Open your mouth and say “Ahh”. Oh, it’s nothing serious. Just a cold. Take this (9) m three times a day and drink more water. You’ll be better soon.

Lin Tao: Thank you , Doctor.

Doctor: You’re (10) w .

1) matter 2) headache 3) dead 4) Worry 5)temperature 6)But 7)Ever 8)over 9)medicine

1 0) welcome

2. W: Hi, Hugh! Can you tell me how it happened?

M: (1) S_______, I was mountain climbing in New Hampshire in 1982. Suddenly, the weather became really bad. There was lots of snow and we couldn’t see anything.. We got (2) l_______. Well, we spent 4 days on the mountain. The (3) t________ was 20 degrees below zero. We didn’t have any (4) e________ or food.

W: So what happened? I guess someone found you, (5)r________?

M: Yes, but we were very sick. I couldn’t move my legs because of the cold. I spent 2 months in the hospital. The doctors (6) r________ my legs.

W: Right. So you lost your legs. But you wanted to try your best to stay (7) a________.

M: That’s right. I decided to make some new legs for myself. I realized that no one has to be physically (8)d________. We can use modern (9) t________ to help us.

W: And you built these great new legs. Can you go mountain climbing again?

M: Yes, I can. In (10) f________, these are better than climbing shoes. The spring design means that they are more powerful.

1. Sure 2. lost 3. temperature 4. equipment 5. right

6. removed 7. active 8. disabled 9. technology 10. fact

3. Ted: I believe you have a 1982 Toyota for (1) s_________.

Bill: That’s right.

Ted: Can I ask a few (2) q____________ about it?

Bill: Sure. What would you like to (3) k__________?

Ted: Well, what condition is it in?

Bill: It’s in good condition. It’s just been repainted. And the tires are only six months (4) o_________.

Ted: And what color is it?

Bill: Dark blue.

Ted: Uh huh. How many (5) m__________ does it have on it?

Bill: About 60,000.

Ted: Does it have air-(6)c___________?

Bill: Well yes, but it’s not working too well.

Ted: I see. And is it a two-door or four-door?

Bill: It’s a two-door.

Ted: And you’re (7) a__________ $4,500?

Bill: That’s right, or the nearest (8) o__________.

Ted: Well, I’d like to come and have a look at it. Could I see it tonight?

Bill: (9) S__________. I live at 6408 Grange Street. Could you come after 7:00? (10) S__________ else is coming at 6:30.

Ted: All right. And my name’s Wilson.

Bill: Fine. Thanks, Mr. Wilson.

1. sale 2. questions 3. know 4. old 5. miles

6. conditioning 7. asking 8. offer 9. Sure 10. Someone

4. A: Hello, Professor Miller, you wanted to see me?

B: Oh, yes, Tom. Thanks for coming. It’s about your work as a teaching (1) a______. I’ve just read your (2) e_________, the ones that students filled out toward the end of the semester.

A: Yes, well, how were they?

B: Would you like to take a look? Out of a possible score of five, you got a 4.8. That’s very high, Tom.

A: What a (3) p__________ surprise?

B: When we see such a high score, we (4) g______ try to keep the TA on a little longer, and perhaps even ask them to cover more classes. What do you say, Tom? Would you like to (5) h________ a double load in the fall?

A: I’m sure I would , but I don’t know if I can. Next fall will be my last semester of course work for my Master’s and I will be very busy doing (6) r_______ on my paper. Could I have a few days to think about it?

B: (7) C_______, I wouldn’t want you to fall behind in your course work, but I do think you should (8) c_______ getting more experience in the classroom. You seem to have a real (9) g_____

A: Thank you for your (10) e__________, Professor.

B. Let me know by the beginning of the next week, will you?

A: Sure. I’ll drop by again on Monday or Tuesday.

1. assistant. 2 .evaluations 3.pleasant 4.generally 5.handle 6.research 7.Certainly 8.consider 9.gift 10.encouragement

5. A: Wake up, Eric, time to (1) r ______ and shine.

B: Oh, Jane. I must have fallen (2) a_______ while I was reading.

A: You and everyone else. It looks more like a campground than a library.

B: Well, the classroom is too (3) n______ to study in and I guess this place is too quiet.

A: Have you had any luck finding a (4) t_______ for your paper?

B: No. Professor Grant told us to write about anything on Eastern culture. For once I wish she had not given us so much of a (5) c_______.

A: Well. Why not write about Chinese culture? You seem to be interested in that part of the world.

B: I am, but there is too much (6) m________ to cover. I’ll be writing (7) f_______, and Professor Grant only wants five to seven pages.

A: So then (8) l_____ it to one place in China, say, Beijing. You’ve been there and you said it’s got lots of places of (9) i_______ and you enjoyed your trip very much.

B: That’s not a bad idea. I brought many books and things back with me last summer. That would be great (10) r________ material, now if I could only remember where I put them.

1. rise 2.asleep 3.noisy 4.topic 5.culture 6.material 7.forever 8.limit 9.interest 10.resource

6. A: Judy. Where have you been? It ‘ s already 6 o ‘ clock.

B. Oh, I have been (1)d_________ and I saw just what I wanted.

A: I know. A green dress to (2)m________ the green shoes you bought last week.

B: No, not a green dress or a red one or a yellow one. It isn ‘ t anything for me. It ‘ s (3)f___ our house.

A: Our house? What is it?

B: You will never (4)g______. It ‘ sa new sofa. A yellow one.

A: We already have a sofa, a very good one.

B. I ‘ ve (6)n______ liked it. It ‘ s brown and our other (5)f________ is light blue. It doesn ‘ t match . A Yellow one will look good with our other thing.

A: Very well. Tell me about it.

B: (7)F______of all, it ‘ s (8)e________ the right size for the wall near the window. The sofa we have now is too (9)s_____.

A: Is it wide or narrow?

B: It ‘ s as wide as our old sofa. But it looks narrower because it ‘ s longer.

A: Fine. Then I ‘ ll have a good place to sleep after (10)d_______.

1.downtown 2.match 3.for 4.guess 5.never 6.furniture 7.First 8.exactly 9.short 10.dinner

7.

M: Customer (1) s_______! Anthony Grant speaking. How may I help you?

W: I can’t believe this is happening. I called and (2) o_______ a 32-inch bag last Friday. But today I found that you sent a 24-inch one. I was (3) _______ to use that bag during our vacation in Mexico. But it doesn’t seem (4) p_______ any more because we’ll (5) t_______ off on Saturday. It’s only 2 days away. What am I (6) s_______ to do?

M: I’m really sorry, Madam. I’ll (7) c_______ right away. Would you please tell me your order number?

W: It’s CE2938.

M: Just a minute. I do (8) a________, Madam. There did seem to be a mistake. I’ll have the correct size bag sent to you by overnight mail. Right away! It will arrive in time for your Saturday trip . I’m so sorry for any (9) i________ caused by our mistake. I (10) p_______ it won’t happen again.

W: Ok, well, thank you.

M: Thank you, Madam, for choosing Linch Mail. I hope you’ll have a wonderful vacation!

1. service 2. ordered 3. planning 4. possible 5. take

6. supposed 7. check 8. apologize 9. inconvenience 10. promise

8. M: Alice, what time is Mr. Black’s (1) f________ expected to arrive at Boston Airport?

W: Around 2 pm. Sir. Will you go with the company car to meet him?

M: Yes. So I’d like leave here no (2) l________ than now. How about the hotel for Mr. Black and his party?

W: I (3) b_______ the rooms for them last week and checked again yesterday to be sure everything is ready.

M: (4) I________ the welcome room for tonight’s reception?

W: That’s right. The manager promised me that everything would be exactly what we have (5) r________.

M: Excellent. I want everything to be the very best.

W: I’m sure it will be. That manager has never let us (6) d________ yet.

M: We want to make a good (7) i________. Not just to be sure that the business deal is a (8) s________, but pay (9) b________ the wonderful treatment we (10) r________ from them in Tokyo last year.

1. flight 2. later 3. booked 4. Including 5. requested

6. down 7. impression 8. success 9. back 10. received

9. Tanya: Good morning, Carla. How are you today?

Carla: I’m doing (1) f___________ . How about you?

Tanya: Great, thanks. So, what’s the status of our advertising campaign?

Carla: As I (2) m_________ before, it’ll be a national campaign (3) s__________ next month. We’ve decided to use a (4) v_________ of media for full coverage. First, we’ll have 30-second spots on (5) t__________ once a day for 3 weeks. At the same time, we’ll do 15-second radio commercials 3 times a day in selected cities with large populations. (6) F_________ , we’ll have some outdoor ads using billboards near main entrances to big cities.

Tanya: What style will the ads use?

Carla: We’re focusing (7) o_________ slice of life, showing how you can beat the summer heat by biting into a cool ice-cream sandwich. There’ll be some different choices of (8) f__________ to show everyone they’re not stuck with just vanilla .

Tanya: Sounds like an ideal approach. Will we have a new slogan?

Carla: Definitely. The advertising (9) a__________ is working on that right now. They’ll have some proposals (10) r__________ by the end of the week.

Tanya: Sounds like we’ll have a winner on our hands!

1. fine 2. mentioned 3. starting 4. variety 5. television 6. Finally 7. on 8. flavors 9. agency 10. ready

10.

M: Did you hear Tony Blair was (1) r as Prime Minister?

W: Yes I did.

M: Only because he had a really good ad (2) c .

W: (3) W do you say that?

M: Because many people had a huge loss of confidence (4) i him.

W: Why?

M: He didn’t do all of the things he said he was (5) g to do.

W: Yes, but (6) p never do.

M: I (7) s you are right.

W: I saw some of the things he was doing before the recent elections.

M: And?

W: He was visiting sick children in hospitals and visiting schools in (8) p areas.

M: That’s all part of the advertising campaign.

W: I don’t (9) a . I think he is a caring man and a good Prime Minister.

M: He has a good advertising team. If you use positive words, people attach positive meanings.

W: That’s true, but (10) I s voted for him.

1. reelected 2 . campaign 3. Why 4. in 5. going 6. politicians 7. suppose 8. poor 9. agree 10. still

11.

M: Do you believe in the (1) e of alien life forms?

W: Are you (2) r to UFOs?

M: Do you believe there is life on (3) o planets?

W: I don’t’ know. What do you think?

M: I can’t believe that we are the only intelligent life forms that exist in the whole universe.

W: Yes, I agree with that.

M: Also, we have only been able to explore our solar system so (4) f.

W: I know we still don’t have the technology to explore all of that.

M: Recently they have found (5) p that life could have existed on Mars.

W: What kind of life?

M: Only really tiny organisms. They sent a spacecraft to Mars to collect samples of rocks.

W: Was it proof that aliens existed?

M: No, but they are trying to do (6) m research on Mars to see if humans could live there one day.

W: (7) R further unknown galaxies is the key to discovering (8) i intelligent life exists.

M: Hopefully one day they will be able to equip a spacecraft (9) w the right technology to bring an alien back to the Earth.

W: I don’t think that will (10) h in our lifetime.

1. existence 2. referring 3. other 4. far 5. proof 6. more 7. Researching 8. if 9. with 10 happen.

--

--