A self-designed school of life: what I learned from 56 Airbnb Experiences

Chenyu Zheng
10 min readFeb 12, 2019

--

Growing up, I have always been a stereotypical Chinese student who gets good grades and studies hard. After graduating from Princeton, I took on demanding jobs. In 2017, five years out of college, I asked myself “what is next? business school or art school ?” I want to be a life long learner, but could this “school” take a different format?

I heard a voice in my head, “Perhaps it is time to learn life skills, connect with cities I live, and develop my artistic and creative potential. What if I could design a “school”where I take classes and workshops around the world ? On topics that intrigue and stretch me? With people who are passionate about what they do?

As a frequent user of Airbnb, I naturally clicked with the newly launched platform “Airbnb Experiences”. I added illustration component to the Experiences to practice iPad drawing.

After 56 Experiences across Asia, Europe, America and Latin America, I am happy to share what I learned mid-way through the 100 Experiences. ( Note: For the majority of 2018, I was occupied with publishing a book, and thus this project has been stretched across a few years. )

1. I have become a better artist, and met a few mentors along the way.

I met Toby Klayman, a San Francisco based artist and retired professor via Airbnb’s Experience pilot program in December 2015.

Toby in her art studio

The 3 hour class was packed with actions — a detailed demo of charcoal, ink and other medium, a solid work time on ink prints, and a debrief during which Toby ensured that everyone has what is needed to carry on the artwork. Toby reconnected me with the inner artist after a few years of corporate work. I was in tears to know that I can still paint.

Over the next few years, I took Toby’s class 4 times and the mentorship with her played a critical role in forming my art practice and work ethics. Our ages are 54 years apart with different eye colors, but deep inside we are similar. (Toby’s story appeared in my book)

“Don’t stop working, Chenyu! Be Brave! Love from Toby”
my pet portraits at Toby’s studio

In school, sometimes we get stuck with a professor that we don’t connect with, but working with a mentor helps accelerate the learning.

Besides taking art classes with Toby, the world has become my classroom for art:

In Florence Italy, I studied with Architect Francy and illustrated the Florence that I observed. Francy challenged my way of “drawing what I see” with “drawing my own interpretation”.

Florentine buildings, churches, lion, Da Vinci and a grandpa who is hanging clothes, which is similar to a scene you would see in China.

In Mexico City, I not only saw the ruins of Aztec pyramids, but also learned about the history and drew the God of Rain.

Ricardo, left taught me and another local student at his home.

and practiced my first graffiti with Remix (one step closer to painting a mural in 2019):

In Topanga California, I ventured into nature with artists Geoff and Sarah, and tried water color for the first time. Geoff used to teach at RISD.

After a week of rain in LA, the greens are popping — representing new life.
I continued watercolor study in Guadalajara, MX the week after studying with Sarah & Geoff

In Santa Monica, Liz, a ceramic artist who owned a Comedy club for 20 years, encouraged me to experiment with tissue paper and acrylic for 4 hours.

What do these classes have in common ?

(1) They took place in the Artist’s home studio, which provided a doorway into their daily life.

(2) They are more than classes, but empowering experiences to re-think drawing and painting beyond the reality, instead with our interpretation. To think outside the box, paint upside down, throw away what we know works.

Studying with different teachers could be a vulnerable experience at first, but once we overcome the threshold, it empowers and expands.

2. I became more crafty and gave things that I did not have “time” a try.

I used to often say “I don’t have time for xyz” , but for this journey, I set a rule to try everything at least once.

For example, During making a hand woven wall hanging class, it took me a while to figure out the up and down of a needle. In my head, a voice kept saying “you are not coordinated” , but Trudy encouraged me to keep going.

The color of my wall hanging matches my outfit.

In Downtown LA, two blocks from the Original Flower Mart, I made my first bouquet, which has turned into a serious hobby:

In Florence Italy, I designed and painted my first tile with a Florentine emblem.

Now when I see this symbol, I know it’s related to Firenze.

and later that week, designed a chair — the Cactus Chair:

In San Francisco, Melanie’s class took drinking coffee to the next level, to learn how to draw coffee art.

With the newly gained skill, I continued to practice on daily basis during my book writing in the Mogan Mountain in China:

There are many other first times: binded a book, dyed a natural Indigo scarf, made an Apple Pie, spoke in front of other story tellers in a bar where Jack Kerouac used to write.

And these first times could turn out to be important in life. Till date, I mostly apply the same technique (expressionist portraiture) and medium (acrylic) that I learned in high school because that is what I have acquired. Often, I get blocked to start because I didn’t learn it first with a professional. Now, my artist toolkit has expanded and feel more comfortable using other medium such as watercolor, collage, illustration.

3. I discovered more about my own culture and roots in China:

In Shanghai, a 7am photography walking tour on the Bund shows how Shanghai wakes up. We saw early morning Tai Chi practice, kite runners and walked through old alleys.

Photographer Jerry told me he picked 7am for a reason, so that we can experience Shanghai in its authentic way as the city wakes up.

A dumpling course taught me how to make 4 types of Banquet Dumplings that I have never seen in life, as a Chinese person.

I wandered into a small Hutong in Beijing and immersed in a concert of traditional Chinese instruments meeting La La Land.

In another Hutong alley, a couple taught me how to carve my name in a seal. It has become an essential for my book tour and autography. This seal accompanies me everyday.

I reconnected with the Chinese tea culture and gained knowledge about green, black, oolong tea in two tea ceremonies in Beijing and Hangzhou.

Sharing the tea class with 3 of my readers and Master Pan

4. I connected better with cities that I am staying or visiting.

Architecture, street art, walking, biking became a routine in how I know a new city. I biked through Rome and Beijing, and walked around the murals in London and San Francisco, with experts. They are not just tours, but left me with a new way of experience with the culture and history of a city.

Now I see San Francisco buildings differently, with more conscious mind
bike through 500 years of history of Beijing with Tony
murals in a residential complex in Rome

Even with only 88 hours in Mexico City, I went in a “time machine” of 5 Airbnb Experiences of graffiti, ancient Mexican art, architecture, and a history tour! That 3 day felt like a week or more.

What’s unique about Airbnb Experiences is that it is highly selective and well curated. For example, we could be taking an architecture tour with Jay who has been doing it for 20 years.

5. I went to many intimate music concerts in California and China.

With an open mind this time, I tried all types of concerts and some of which I had no exposure of or had little organic interest. I found that music and dance are universal experiences that transcend languages.

And not only for myself, but brought my hosts, friends, housemates to the intimate concerts to spread the joy. Sharing the Experiences matches with my love language of gift giving.

6. I stepped out of my comfort zone, many times,

to try improv

and use tumeric and spirulina powder from Whole Foods to paint:

Took a make up class in Hollywood with Brian, and walked away with a new understanding of accepting our own unique features.

6. Other learnings

These Experiences have collectively enriched my life, exposed me to different arts and crafts, grounded me with new and old environments, and expanded my capabilities. It has allowed me live in a borderless nation whose citizens are connected by love and kindness. It has gifted me lifelong friends and mentors, in many parts of the world. I now can go back to Mexico and can call the artists for a coffee or tostada. I receive feedback from Francy in Firenze on my new art work. The relationships formed are reciprocal and not ephemeral.

The seal carving studio became the filming location for my book with a major media in China

What brings me joy is also manifested in that many travelers, especially in China, started to connect with unfamiliar environments in local ways through Experiences.

Jane wrote “I’m about to try making pasta in Rome. Thanks Ms Apple for introducing Airbnb lifestyle to me.”

During the last quarter of 2018, I went on a book tour of 17 cities around China. One of the audience wrote to me:

“ Thank you for being so committed to your goal and all that you’re putting in to tell your story. You are a great reminder to all of us that are walking our own path that it’s always the right path when we’re on the road of both being ourselves while we continue to find ourselves. ”

My next step is to continue the other half of the 100 Experiences, which could take me to London, Sydney / Melbourne, Seoul, Tokyo , Bangkok, Berlin, Madrid/ Barcelona and other places.

I published a book in China in 2018 (with 15k copies in circulation ) and my next project is to compile an illustration book in English at the end of this journey. I am studying book illustration in London at the moment.

I welcome any feedback and suggestions on the book topic or any intro in the publishing world. My ongoing illustrations based on travel, home decoration and daily life can be found on Instagram @ chenyuz Or @365dOnAirbnb
WeChat: Apple_chenyuzz

An artful Mexican home in Guadalajara

If this story interests you, there is a 6min documentary video about my journey of belonging everywhere 👉 https://vimeo.com/289008501

And a recent TEDx about what I learned about belonging and home through airbnb:

Other articles I wrote:

--

--

Chenyu Zheng

Artfully Translating Cultures | International Advisor & Brand Ambassador | Chinese Born Global Citizen 苹果姐姐