The Power of Decluttering: My Personal Journey to a Minimalist Lifestyle

Cheree' Means
4 min readJan 24, 2023

Before reading, please scroll all the way down to the bottom of this page for it to be counted as a “read.” Thank you!

In Unlock the Power of Minimalist Style: How to Reduce Clutter and Transform Your Life, I discussed what minimalism is and tips on how to reduce clutter and live a more balanced life. In Embracing Minimalism: The Emotional Journey of Decluttering and How it Can Improve Your Life, I discussed the emotional impact of choosing to live a minimalist lifestyle and how decluttering can affect us emotionally.

In this article, I want to share my personal experience with deciding to pursue a more minimalistic lifestyle. As someone who has spent hours decluttering in an attempt to live a more minimalist lifestyle, I can attest to the many emotional benefits that come with it. One of the most important steps in the process of embracing minimalism is decluttering, and I want to share my personal experience with it, as well as some tips on how to make it a more manageable and rewarding task.

My Emotional Journey

When I first started decluttering, I felt overwhelmed and emotional. I had sentimental attachments to many of my possessions and letting go of them felt like losing a part of myself. I struggled with getting rid of items that I had for a long time, or that held memories or sentimental value. I also found it difficult to part with items that I had spent a lot of money on, or that I thought…

--

--

Cheree' Means

Thought leader. Intersecting finance, travel, mental health, leadership, & parenthood. Empowering you to take control and to live your best life.