The 90’s Kid

A look back into the '90s — From the perspective of an Indian

Jacob P Cherian
2 min readApr 17, 2020
Photo by Phoebe Strafford on Unsplash

Oh Yes! I’m a 90’s Kid
Born not with a spoon of gold
The shades of memory, a lofty past
Down the aisle, a worthy trod.

The best days, perpetual remembrance
Pumping the heart with warmth and love
Through the corridors of my alma mater
A new world, the 90’s of Old.

Why do I boast of the 90’s age?
A saga untold, but billions cherish
If you knew what I meant,
Oh Yes! I’m a 90’s Kid

The King of Pop seduced a million
Backstreets and Vengas, Boys of the Age
The ripple and the beats stayed for long
Celebrate! We had seasons in the Sun.

Forget not, the greatest of knocks,
In the Arabian Soil, Little Master Himself,
Fervent heart and eyes ablaze
Master and Prince, the inimitable pair.

Came in the days, never imagined
Windows and Mouse redefined
Dave and Doom the top-notch games
The Lion King became a family pet

Enthralled by the fight of giants
Bret there was and Phenom Died
Rose again to much of amuse
Fake it was, never bothered a bit.

Sundays the Special, DD the lone
A blatant No to Weekend Swots
Mesmerized by the whirlwind man
Immature Fantasy, take a bow!

The world was a better place
Relations existed- the 90’s way
Love was in the air, calm and sedulous
Now cunning as never before.

Nuke not my memories of old.
The Nano Age fast and near
Never repeats such an age
The golden age of me and more

Had I wings to fly back the years
Abeyance from the ruthless Now
If you know what I meant
Oh Yes! I’m a 90’s Kid.

--

--