In a room full of people, my eyes would always meet his.

cher
2 min readJul 18, 2024

--

Have you ever heard the saying: “To see who loves who, you only have to observe who they instinctively look at first when everyone laughs in a group”?

I’ve always believed this theory and would silently observe everyone whenever the appropriate situation arises. It’s been years since I’ve done this, and I could confirm that it’s true and that the eyes never lie.

To further corroborate this, I can also confirm that I too, fall victim to this phenomenon. Back when I’m besotted with a crush/romantic partner, it’s always their eyes that I want to meet to share this moment together.

It makes me smile extra hard whenever I look up and see them already gazing at me with a smirk on their face.

It makes my heart do a little leap whenever we’re in a crowded room, talking to different groups of people, yet like magic, our eyes would always still find each other amidst the crowd like sunlight breaking through the clouds.

He would gesture to the exit with his eyes, and mouth “go?”, to which I’d happily oblige, secretly giddy that we speak in codes no one else could detect. We would time our exit and bid our farewells to our different groups before walking hand in hand out the doors, brimming with things to tell one another (e.g: how boring/exhausting that event was).

Nowadays, I just stare at any closest inanimate object instead of searching for his gaze, because I’m so scared to look up to realise that they stopped meeting mine.

--

--

cher

A girl writing down observations about the world around her🌷