Vietnamese Coffee Pancakes?

Chester Gould
3 min readAug 24, 2019
via Leyna Tran Gould, Cafe Sua Da

It was a beautiful day and I just finished work and my wife Leyna asked if I wanted to go for a walk. After spending the past 10 hours behind a desk in my small off-white office with the only resemblance of fresh air being filtered through an air conditioner, and my constant view of the outside world being through plastic Walmart mini blinds designed to somehow repel the heat absorbing through my 1970’s glass windows, I jumped up and startled her with a loud, excited, and way too quick answer of YES!

We walked to the square (which is just what they call the commercial or busy parts of town in Boston) and there were these relatively older gentleman jamming out playing really old classic songs from the 50s, they were playing with a guitar, clarinet, and a cello. I was surprised to see the square full of so many young people watching and listening to them play.

It’s probably my own personal bias, but it really made me feel good about the youth today, there is so much media saying how our millennial generation lacks appreciation and culture, but here were teenagers and young twenty somethings tapping their feet and getting into some old Navy guys playing Sam Cooke.

--

--

Chester Gould

I love computer science, darts, and Vietnamese Coffee