Erstwhile to Earnest tennis player

Krishna P
2 min readMar 21, 2017

--

It’s almost the end of my post graduate program @ School of Inspired Leadership in Gurgaon

I had noticed this nondescript tennis court nearby 3 months back. Trying to become an earnest student, I became an erstwhile tennis player. Ahem, enough of maudlin !

I finally exhorted myself to become an earnest tennis player yet again, after almost 5 long years (Thanks for the inspiration from my mentor, Mr. Arun Kumar who plays golf !). Playing tennis is one thing which I have been missing for so long !

I went to the tennis court and had a chat with the coach and quickly sealed a deal. Voilà, in the next couple of minutes, I stood dazzled on the court as I started playing after chumming up with a couple of students !

Yeah, too bad that I did not have any partners, but I must admit that these kids really played well !

Of course, that’s not me ! Some one in our court !

I tried to recollect the nuances of various strokes ranging from forehand to… backhand to.. volley to..serve, but who cares, I enjoyed playing. I was supposed to play for an hour as per the deal, but they let me play “extra time” :P

Meanwhile, Dinesh was all worn out after his first practice session. Yup, my roomie tried to give a shot at learning to play Tennis after getting lured by my game :P Finally it was time to leave at 8:45 PM, completely exhausted and overjoyed by just “playing” tennis

I guess it’s time to connect the dots…

My favorite quote from the fable “Jonathan Livingston Seagull”

using its wings as means to the end of finding and fighting for food”
(here food = game ????, I am sure not !)

Earlier when I used to play tennis, I was focused more on the game, but now I focus only on “playing”. I was not there to find a court and fight for time to improve my game, rather I was there “playing” completely present at the moment !

Would you believe that my childhood tennis partner “Praveen” called me up after a very long time. That too, after my game today and I was happily sharing my moments of joy with him !

--

--

Krishna P

Analytics Consultant @TigerAnalytics | Formerly @Gramener | Data-driven leadership: Enabling businesses to consume data and get value out of it