The Kindness Of Strangers: Bai Xep, Vietnam

Chiara Castro
3 min readNov 28, 2020

A little misadventure along the coast of Vietnam became a tale of warmheartedness and hospitality

Bai Xep Beach and the traditional Vietnamese basket boats

It was late afternoon, the big red sun was disappearing into the water. The sky started to fill up with different pink textures. Some playful clouds were moving slowly, creating a hypnotic dance.

While tourists were leaving their sandy spots, the beautiful Bai Xep Beach filled with locals. Fishermen were attentively preparing their thung chai, the iconic Vietnamese basket boat, for the night. Groups of children were playing in the background, loudly.

When the darkness of the night conquered the bay, I decided to head back. On top of my moped, I could not move. It was incredibly heavy, as it was stuck with something.

Your back tyre is flat, miss!” told me a guy who was passing by. Great…And now?

Local fisher’s house

I reached the small fishing village of Bay Xep in the morning. Located just 13 km south of Qui Nhon, it was a pleasant way for escaping the heath and bustle of the city.

Cruising my way down to the beach, I did not care much about the quality of the road. I was too busy to roll my eyes to…

--

--