Chieaynne Henderson
2 min readMar 25, 2020

March 25, 2020

Long Live The Hu$$le.

I remember when trying to decide what I was going to name my son, I thought of people I admired. Nipsey came to mind first, I looked up his real name but didn’t even know how to pronounce it lol. So I kept looking.

Then my son’s dad suggested it, maybe a week or so later. I was still hesitant against it simply because of the pronunciation. But I compromised and made it his middle name. Plus I don’t believe in coincidences so it was only right. I listened to Nipsey say his name on a YouTube video over and over again until I felt like I got it, lol.

I remember playing Victory Lap in my belly buds while I was pregnant. I remember my son moving to it. He’s almost 2 now and I still think he recognizes his voice from that time.

Nipsey was a real one. I have always admired his hustle. Although I was skeptical when I heard he was releasing that $100 album. (only because I couldn’t afford it though) lol. But now that I understand the reason behind it, I’m 100% with it.

This must have been how the people felt when Pac died. I feel like I will never forget Nip. I feel like he will forever be an inspiration to me. Whenever I feel like giving up, I play Nip. If I’m feeling stressed, I play Nip. When I’m feeling motivated, I play Nip. When I’m feeling sad, I play Nip. I think I have played Nip everyday since he died.

I just thought I would be seeing so much more from him. I was excited to follow his journey. He was doing it big, just like his song with Marsha Ambrosius.

Even now, as we globally go through this setback, I’m just thinking about Nipsey. Remembering Nipsey and who he was, what he stood for. The Hussle. Trying to figure out how I make this a good thing for me and my future success.

I haven’t figured it out yet, but I will. 💙