Day 10 of 100: Social Share button design concept [animated]

Chimdindu Aneke
100 days of UI(UX) design
3 min readJul 3, 2016

--

Put on your dancing shoes for we’re celebrating our first milestone in this adventurous and grace-filled journey. ( Yes “we” because this 100 days journey is for both the writer/designer and the readers/learners/reviewers since effort is applied to write/design/read.

It has been 10 amazing designs in 2 weeks. Step by step we are moving :)

Biko, [please in Igbo language] let’s get down to the main business of the day…enough party already abi? hahahaha.

As usual, the 10th design prompt by dailyUI was to design a social share UI concept. Which simply means to design a share button or icon that allows people to share an article/websites/video etc to a social site.

How it went down

After hours of seeking for a ‘goosebump-shedding’ kinda idea, for there is nothing difficult in just putting a ‘share’ text in a rectangle to make a share button/icon. I just wanted to create something different and that will resonate well with web users. Also, considering that this was a milestone design — I decided to add a bit of interaction to whatever design I generate.

After lots of “undos” and “redos” using Sketch App, I ended up designing the pages below:

Clicking on the share button brings up the side share menu (not animated yet)

Prototyping

For the interaction design, I experimented Flinto Prototyping tool ( a prototyping tool used by designers to bring ideas and visual concepts to life ). And it was my first time dealing with Flinto and I actually found it pretty simple to use. But I will keep trying others until one becomes natural.

I ended up with 5 different styles.

Let me know your best interaction out of the five and the reason why in the comment section :) Thank you very much I and hope you enjoyed it?

--

--

Chimdindu Aneke
100 days of UI(UX) design

Father of Millions. Here on earth to Love God, Love people, and Lead and impact my generation. CurrentLy Program Manager@Facebook. Formerly @Google @Andela.