No gree for anybody!

The word for 2024

Chimdiebube Orji
2 min readJan 3, 2024
Photo by Aziz Acharki on Unsplash

It’s as though Nigerians agreed that our word for the year 2024 is

“No gree for anybody”

We even have a theme song to remind ourselves, check it out here.

I love it and asked a few of my contacts about what they think that it meant.

For me, it means that I shouldn’t let people and their opinions, stop me from doing the things I know I am supposed to for the improvement of my life. – Ochuole

It means to apply pressure to whatever goal you are aiming to achieve. – Z

Seize opportunities, step into rooms with confidence and shine brightly. – Ochuole

Be steadfast, kwechiri! – G.

It means that right from the days of John the Baptist, the kingdom of God suffers violence and only the violent will take it. It means that for is rightfully ours, not a single one of it would be lost. Not one! – B.

Ekwe na! Kwechiri! – Gerard

It means put yourself first this year. Try and be considerate to yourself. Like help yourself first this year. – Amara

For the non Igbo speakers: Ekwe na or Kwechiri means to resist or no gree for anybody.

Finally, here’s my own explanation:

Go all out, push beyond your boundaries, stretch yourself and become all that God has called you to be.

No gree for anybody even yourself!

--

--

Chimdiebube Orji

My interests lie at an intersection of entrepreneurship, policy making, haircare and health