China B.
1 min readJul 9, 2024

--

I do get how frustrating it is to accommodate a crowd, and I don't think pickiness should be accommodated, but I was the lactose intolerant kid who dreaded having to pick apart my pizza at slumber parties, and if you're the one with the dietary requirement, it's embarrassing to have people look at you and ask "What's wrong, why can't you eat that?" If I know I'm cooking for others I'd rather do the work of finding food that works for everyone just to avoid anyone feeling singled out.

At a previous job my team would accommodate vegan and gluten-free requests at office potlucks; we honestly did a great job of it because we got creative. I think the American diet struggles to match dietary needs but Thai, Indian and Japanese food, for instance, are amazing at being able to accommodate everyone by leaning on rice, vegetables, tofu and vegan sauces.

--

--

China B.

Used to study the IKEA manifesto and photograph concerts. Am now growing tomatoes and looking for a home for my first novel. Born and raised in Los Angeles.