LIFE| PERSONAL| NONFICTION

What If Everyone Behaved Like Me …

How would the world be?

Chinedu V. Onyema
3 min readMay 1, 2024
Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

Have you ever taken time to ask this question?

Sometimes I think of the foregoing. Sometimes I would wish it were possible. Sometimes I wouldn’t honestly want it to be so.

How would the world be if everyone behaved like me?

To be frank, is the key word here. The world would be boring if everyone behaved like me. But wait …

That is just on one side of the coin. The world would be peaceful. That’s also from one dimension. The world would be free of crimes and criminal tendencies.

Is it possible for the world to be filled up with only people that behave like me? Of course, it is not possible. This is my greatest consolation.

There are things I wouldn’t do even for a pay cheque (paycheck) of one million dollars. Somebody, somewhere, somehow would do it for free.

This is the beauty of life. See my story: “Why We Are The Way We Are”.

https://medium.com/the-echoing-epiphanies/why-we-are-the-way-we-are-cb655a514fb6

Nobody has it all. Nobody lacks it all. This is the beginning of the wisdom of the human differences and the relativeness therein.

Illustrative Peep

Sometime on a Friday in May, 2005: I had gone with all the money on me to purchase goods to be sold the following day. Saturdays were like business festival for us.

“In all thy ‘missings’, do not miss the Saturday sales”. That sounded pretty like an unwritten rule. But lo and behold, that very Saturday was never to be like others. It changed a lot of things for worse or better, or both.

Unusually, I had returned from lectures as a part-time student. Tired and worn out, I had minded my bed. The shouts and cries of men and women did not perturb me at all.

When I woke up the following morning, the bad news broke: inferno had raged and devoured everything in a section of the community market that previous night.

The following day, I went to see things for myself, the smoke was still silently oozing out from the charred remains of the erstwhile men’s blood and sweat.

That same day, sympathizers swamped my phone line. I was nowhere to be found. I had gone to one of the community viewing centres to watch the English Premier League games in an unusual marathon fashion.

Did Arsenal play that day? I could no longer remember. All I did was watch and watch and watch — from the early afternoon till the last match of the day …

I did not want the sympathy of men — especially their empty sympathy, sympathy without empathy. I did not want their mere expression of passion, passion without compassion.

I was reckless: gently reckless.

This is a tip of the iceberg.

If everyone had behaved like me, how would the world had been? I know not at this point.

Over to you my beloved readers.

Thanks for reading.

Support my work in cash or in kind. Do not buy me coffee, it would miss its way, ‘email’ it rather to: eduuwanile2023@gmail.com

--

--

Chinedu V. Onyema

From the influence of intuitive inspiration to the affluence of gracious Grace and to confluence of ideas, I write. "Life would be tragic if it weren't funny."