When “Love & Light” Is Not Enough: What I Learn From Times of Conflict

Michelle Lewis
6 min readMay 23, 2018

It’s been a really weird week.

The theme I see recurring in my life over the past week or so is one of being in direct conflict with others. Not everyone, but certainly a very vocal few. These button-pushing battles have brought up some unpleasant emotions in me, including annoyance, frustration, and disgust. Anger and Indignation came along for the ride. A profound sense of sadness has shown up, but also a crystal clear resolve to press on has made her steel-hard, calming presence known. Oh, and then there’s the goddesses (more on them later).

I haven’t felt this way in a long while, but it’s apparently necessary for my personal growth and healing, and necessary for my chosen role as a leader, teacher, guide, coach, public figure and truth-teller. The more that I choose to explore and embrace and express my full self, the more likely I am to encounter folks who don’t like me, don’t get me, don’t approve of me and feel emboldened to let me know. I admit that this is uncomfortable for me as someone who loves to be liked.

The thing is, when you decide to become more visible, more vocal, more vulnerable- you will get tested and you will be challenged. You will be misunderstood, and you will be called out. You may feel totally triggered or unfairly attacked…

--

--

Michelle Lewis

Writer, Author, Speaker, Empowerment Coach. Founder of The Blessings Butterfly www.theblessingsbutterfly.com