Will/Would

Chitrapon Laosrisin
2 min readAug 22, 2019
Credit: Pediaa.com

หลาย ๆ ท่านคงทราบดีว่า will นั้นใช้แสดงความเชื่อหรือความเป็นไปได้ในอนาคต ส่วน would เป็นรูปอดีตของ will แต่ will และ would ยังใช้ในกรณีอื่นได้อีกด้วย

will ใช้แสดงพฤติกรรมในปัจจุบันไม่ว่าจะดีหรือไม่ดี

ตัวอย่าง

He will always wake up early.

She’ll tell you all about her life even if you’re not interested.

ถ้าเป็นอดีตจะใช้ would

ตัวอย่าง

My father would take me fishing every Saturday.

เราใช้ will แสดงถึงความต้องการที่จะทำสิ่งนั้น (รูปอดีตจะใช้ would)

ตัวอย่าง

We’ll see you tomorrow.
Perhaps dad will lend me the car.

Dad wouldn’t lend me the car, so we had to take the train.

เราใช้ I will, we will เมื่อให้คำสัญญาหรือให้ข้อเสนอ

ตัวอย่าง

I’ll give you a lift home after the party.

เราใช้ Will you หรือ Would you เมื่อขอร้องบางสิ่ง

ตัวอย่าง

Will you carry this for me, please?

Would you please be quiet?

would ยังใช้กับกรณีดังต่อไปนี้

ใช้สำหรับเชิญชวนหรือคำเสนอ

ตัวอย่าง

Would you like another drink?

Would you like to come round tomorrow?

พูดถึงสิ่งที่เราต้องการหรืออยากกระทำ

ตัวอย่าง

I’d like to go home now.

ใช้บอกสิ่งที่เราชอบมากกว่า (I would rather)

ตัวอย่าง

I’d rather have the new one, not the old one.

เมื่อแสดงความเห็นจะใช้ I would think, I would imagine หรือ I’d guess

It’s very difficult, I would imagine.

I would think that’s the right answer.

ในประโยคเงื่อนไข (Conditional) จะใช้ will ถ้าสิ่งที่คิดอาจเกิดขึ้นในปัจจุบันหรืออนาคต

ตัวอย่าง

Ill give her a call if I can find her number.

แต่ถ้าเป็นสิ่งที่จินตนาการหรือข้อสมมติฐานจะใช้ would

ตัวอย่าง

It would be very expensive to stay in a hotel.

If he got a new job, he would probably make more money.

เราสามารถให้คำแนะนำในรูปประโยคนี้ได้โดยใช้ will (แต่ would หรือรูปอดีตจะสุภาพกว่า)

ตัวอย่าง

Dan will help you if you ask him. ( Dan would help you if you asked him.)

References

British Council. (2562). ‘will’ and ‘would’. https://learnenglish.britishcouncil.org/english-grammar-reference/will-and-would

EC English. (2562). Describing habits. https://www.ecenglish.com/learnenglish/lessons/describing-habits

--

--