Intelligence Is a Two-Ingredient Recipe

Develop self-awareness and resourcefulness to grow your inner world

Chloe Gordon
6 min readAug 19, 2023

--

Photo by author

Self-awareness

Let me tell you a story of two beginner salsa dancers at the same nightclub in Philadelphia.

The first guy was there because it was an ongoing event on Meetup, and he thought it would be a great place to meet women. Any serious dancer reading this knows where this story is going. He didn’t know, but the rest of us are aware that great dancers are the hardest crowd to impress. I worked hard to get to my skill level, so why would I choose to waste three minutes of this glorious clave entertaining the entitlement of some boring guy who doesn’t love salsa?

To get to the point, he was a terrible dancer. It was so bad I cautiously asked, “Do you… take classes here?” To which he responded, with all the confidence in the world, “Oh I took like, two classes. I get it.” He had literally not the slightest clue he looked like a gyrating cringe.

Of course he yapped my ear off about himself until the song ended, and I thanked him for the dance and moved away to the other end of the dance floor.

Considering I never saw him stay late after the dance floor got packed, or even again at the club after a few Mondays, I can assume he…

--

--

Chloe Gordon

I want to share with you my travels, my Spanish learning journey, and my photography. Find out more at https://beacons.ai/chloegordon