Six Areas of Improvement in Foreign Language Learning

All my stories in one place to develop the capabilities you already use in your native language

Chloe Gordon

--

Graphic by the author

I’ve seen 4 core areas across YouTube and the internet. Listening, speaking, writing, and reading. I prefer to call these listening comprehension, verbal fluency, writing and reading. For those of us who want to speak a new language well, our targets must be more specialized.

To these core four I want to add two more: Self-correction ability and vocabulary retention.

I think these are imperative for intermediate learners to get to the next level. These two concepts we can do in our native language and we need to transplant these skills into our new language’s operating system.

1 — Within listening comprehension, here are a few sub-topics: phonology, or the sounds associated with the language, slang and idioms, understanding fast or unclear speakers, and getting cultural references.

--

--

Chloe Gordon

I want to share with you my travels, my Spanish learning journey, and my photography. Find out more at https://beacons.ai/chloegordon