Where Will I Go From Here ?

Chloe Lassiter
2 min readMay 23, 2017

Well it’s been a long 28 days without meat products but it has come to an end. Whether it was trying new recipes I thought would taste horrible or spending all my money on expensive pescatarian food products, I’ve done it all so far but I’m glad that were done.

According to The National Chicken Capital and data I found on its website, if the entire US population went on a pescatarian diet like I did for a whole year, about 4.7 billion lbs of beef would be saved, 10.3 billion lbs of chicken would be saved and 12.4 lbs of pork would also be saved. This means a 74% reduction of beef consumption, a 65% reduction in chicken consumption, and a decrease of 23% of pork consumption. What a world it would be!

After my pescatarian diet, I believe that from time to time I will continue the lifestyle. It was quite an experience and I realized how much meat I can save and if everyone in the US did this it would be great. We could spend more money and time on more important things such as more beneficial facilities or even more money spent on things to help society. We would definitely be reducing animal suffering and the pain animals go through to get on someone’s dinner table.

I very much hope that not only me but at least most of the US can try to at least go and follow a diet such as I did because it would make a big difference and help many.

--

--

Chloe Lassiter

Oyster Adams 8th grade student; Pescatarian for 28 days