Things never go according to plan…well, kinda.

Corey Hobbs
7 min readDec 29, 2015

--

When I first told my friend I was going to write this, it was completely unrelated to what you’re about to read below, but that changed… sort of like how life changes plans for you. Without notice.

2015 was a year that could be easily coined “one for the books.” A lot changed for me on all fronts of my life. As the year is coming to an end I thought it would be a cool idea to share my perspective on life and where I think it’s taking me based on what happened in 2015. This is not in order of how things happened. Just a retelling of a roller coaster of a year.

In 2015:

I Graduated from College with an Electrical Engineering Degree, at UC Davis.

This was pretty cool. I always knew this day would come, but the moment I finished my last final the emotion that came with that was unprecedented. College was probably the single best decision I’ve made to date in my short 22 years of life. Takeaway: College isn’t for everybody, but anyone can do it — if they really want to. Go AGS!

My 13 year Track&Field career came to an end.

Age 9 (left) for Bakersfield Greyhounds. Age 22 for UC Davis (right).

Thanks Mom & Dad for all the years and sacrifices you’ve both made to keep this dream alive. It all started in endless 100 degree summers in Bakersfield, Ca and ending in a rainy conference championship in Riverside, Ca. Track took me across the US and back, and I loved every moment of it. Finally letting go of track after 13 straight years (nearly year round). Maxing out my body’s physical limit is a weird thing to just let go, and I’m still dealing with not having proper closure. My final years of Track&Field didn’t go as I had hoped, but the life lessons I’ve learned from this sport are invaluable. Albeit, I’m happy it’s over.

I got my own cell phone plan, finally?

I know my parents are super happy to hear this news. I’ve literally met people who are married with kids and are still on their parents’ original cell phone service plan. I still don’t know why I’ve opted to grow up and get my own cell phone and internet service, but it’s happened and I can’t go back. I’ll just sit here and eclipse into my tears for a moment…

I’ve made friends in a strange, new, beautiful city.

One of my biggest fears when moving to San Francisco 10 days after college was who in the world of SF would I make friends with? It’s an interesting moment I’m sure every adult has to figure out upon relocating to a new city, where they know nearly no one. Luckily the theory behind “degrees of separation” actually worked out in my favor. I’ve somehow managed to cross paths with groups of amazing people. Wouldn’t trade these people for anything. Don’t worry old friends, my number is still the same from 3rd grade ;)

I’ve started my professional career, as an engineer.

Big shoutout to Particle. They hired a great piece of talent, myself, and luckily I scored big at an innovative company. Win-win for both parties involved. This opportunity has also catapulted in the direction I think I want to go into when I’m further along in my career. Great team, great founders, great mission, great product we’re building.

I started 2015 on government aid (CalFresh food benefits), living paycheck to paycheck (mountains of credit card debt), three jobs, a starving college athlete, and still trying to make it to graduation — sane. Times were mad rough, but I kept looking for light at the end of the tunnel and, eventually, I was there. Now I’m financially stable, high-risk debts are gone, and I’m starting to give back to the less-fortunate.

I’ve started volunteering and trying to do more good, regularly.

Good causes I stand behind:

And a great place I spend every other Saturday:

  • Urban Education Academy http://www.urbanedacademy.org/
    Because quality education and access to great mentors will be the way we build the future, together. One kid at a time.

I had to learn how to date in the real world, kinda…

This is the first time I’ve really been single since 2007. Yikes, I know. I’ve always been the husbandy-type of boyfriend that is interested in super committed monogamous relationships. In the last 8 years I’ve only dated 3 people. Which, now that I’m saying this aloud, sounds crazy seeing that I’m only 22. Being single is fine. Being alone is good for me right now. It’s helped me figure out what matters and what is just noise.

All throughout college I had one girlfriend, who was an amazing person that somehow managed to put up with me for nearly 4 years (even after college ended); however, that came to an end. Dating her was one of the best times of my life. If you’re interested in knowing why it ended, I’ll sum it up for you in one sentence. It ain’t none of ya business…lol. But really, it ain’t.

I’ve learned who I’m not.

I haven’t learned who I am, yet, but I’ve definitely learned who and what I’m not. I’m not the overtly cocky person that I used to be. I’m not the confused kid who thinks the world is out to get him. I’m not the depressed college kid who didn’t return his parents phone calls or text messages for weeks at a time. I’m not angry student athlete who aired out, via twitter, his coach’s personal life as an attack at the athletic department’s inability to see clearly and listen to the athletes. I’m not the guy who cared entirely too much of what people thought of him on daily basis. I’m not the person who thought life was something that ended when I said it did.

Let’s just hope I figure out who I am, soon enough.

I became more empathetic and a better listener.

I’ve received a couple of phone calls this year that have completely changed my entire perspective on life. They were the type of phone calls that you hope to never hear. Calls about deaths. Calls about suicides. Calls about suicide attempts. Calls about loved ones being in the hospital from absolute horror stories. As more and more people began to ring my line in search of help or good counsel I had no other choice but to listen, more. Separated my own personal life’s worries into issues and problems — all while learning how they are distinctly different. I began to pray a lot more. I began to meditate, for the first time in my life. It all helped. It helped to block out all the noise around me so I could finally focus on the voice inside of me.

I learned about the “concept of money.”

Yeah, as crazy as this sounds, I learned that the single thing that seems to make the world go round, is a concept. I haven’t fully actualized this mindset, yet, into my own life, but hopefully sometime soon I’ll understand how to live with this as reality. Too often in the past I’ve let money control my behavior, mood, decision making, and happiness. This was all a mistake. It wasn’t until I had conversations with a couple super rich people did my mindset about money change. They explained it as a concept and unraveled the history of money as we know it today. These individuals also admitted to having the same human struggle with a constant feeling of needing more of it to feel whole only to realize that you can’t have more of something that is only a concept. Noting:

“Concepts are abstract ideas, not directly observable or measurable…” — Malcom Smith, Research Methods in Accounting (2014)

What does this all mean?

You can never really know if your plan is going to work until it does, or doesn’t. The only plans I had for 2015 were: graduating college, getting a career job, and ending Track&Field. Everything else just happened. Life grabbed me by the neck and took me where I needed to go. At times you will think you have life figured out, only to realize most of the time you don’t know what is really going on. Either way, it is going to be okay. Sit back, watch the universe Spiral around you, and learn a little bit more about yourself each day.

Thanks for reading.

--

--