5 Ways To Explore Like a Local Around Rochester MN

Tiffany Alexandria
3 min readMay 6, 2020

It is hard to know what’s going on and where to go explore in Rochester when you’re not a native. Trust me, I know. When I first moved to Rochester MN, I would search for fun things to do on the web and social media with little to no results.

When I asked my husband or people from Rochester “how do people know what’s going on around here?” “Word of mouth” was the answer I got. It was frustrating. I had no friends, knew no one, word of mouth wasn’t an option.

Fast forward to today, I’ve made new friends, created a new community, I want to help people visiting or moving to Rochester explore local! Here are some resources I find helpful and wish I knew about them 3 years ago.

1. SHRPA

Shrpa.com is THE BEST explore local resource I know. Instead of listing simple locations like trip advisor, shrpa offers day-trip itineraries created by local guides centered around Rochester.

Shrpa is created by Rochester natives Andy Vig & Chris Lukenbill who believes in supporting local.

Shrpa is what I wanted and needed when I first moved here. It’s exactly the way I want to explore. There are lots of small town gems in the itineraries, I still go on fun adventures according to the suggestions and find new places I didn’t know before.

I love the pro-tips they offer as well, things I would never have known if I were exploring on my own.

2. Rochester Moms Blog

Rochester Moms Blog is focused on moms and young families. It offers endless activity ideas, events and family-friendly places to explore! From neighborhood coffee shops, playgrounds to state parks, Moms Blog is more than a blog.

3. Minnesota’s Rochester

Minnesota’s Rochester is the official city tourism website. They offer detailed lists of places to stay, restaurants, and things to do within the city of Rochester. One of the best resources for city events as well.

This resource is more “official”, it lacks personal touch, but a great way to learn about businesses in Rochester.

4. The Rochester Posse

The Rochester Posse is a great resource for music/art lovers. They are huge promoters of the arts and music scene in Rochester. You will find small indie concerts, and local art shows in unique venues if you follow them!

5. Rochester_MN on Instagram

This Instagram account offers a unique look on Rochester. AB Photography captures Rochester in a different light and all of Rochester’s best angles. It’s very easy to fall in love with Rochester through their lenses.

These are my top 5 go-to when I want to know what’s going on in Rochester. Word of mouth still plays a big part in the event scene of Rochester, but it’s getting a little better!

Now, go explore, be outdoors, and have fun!

--

--

Tiffany Alexandria

FOOD | CULTURE | LOCAL | Taiwanese native now living in Midwest, creating tasty recipes with locally sourced ingredients at CHOOCHOOCACHEW.COM .