A book?

Christine Koroleva
2 min readSep 20, 2021

So I faced one of the hardest to answer questions in my life: what are you going to read this year for your Individual Reading?

I surfed the net for some time to find myself a book by a native English-speaking author with more than 1000 pages. I looked through lots of options there but then I saw it. No, not Stephen King’s “It”, though it was there too — it was “The Lord of the Rings” that caught my eye.
This franchise follows me everywhere for years (sure, it’s like the origins of the fantasy genre). I am familiar with the movies and I enjoyed the Hobbit’s story, so I decided it is time to read probably the most popular book of my favourite genre.

wow, that’s a really huge fancy cover for a book right there

Right now I am awaiting this book delivered straight to me… Yeah, it’s the case when I couldn’t resist the temptation to order the physical copy of the book (actually, it’s three books in one hehe) and it’s huge!! 1100+ pages with songs and maps included as I understood.

Here’s a short annotation not to keep you in the dark:

“One Ring to rule them all,
One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.
In ancient times the Rings of Power were crafted by the Elven-smiths, and Sauron, the Dark Lord, forged the One Ring, filling it with his own power so that he could rule all others. But the One Ring was taken from him, and though he sought it throughout Middle-earth, it remained lost to him. After many ages, it fell by chance into the hands of the hobbit Bilbo Baggins...”

John Ronald Reuel Tolkien CBE FRSL was an English writer, poet, philologist, and academic, best known as the author of the high fantasy works The Hobbit and The Lord of the Rings.

imagine being a person who created a world with its own culture and languages

Anyway, wish me luck to survive this year’s reading, haha.

not tLotR related, but DA is my favourite fantasy universe

--

--