Those Other Black People

Chris A
4 min readJun 2, 2020

Below is a post I previously shared to express my reflections on the week following the murder of George Floyd in Minneapolis, MN.

I spent the majority of this weekend in reflection, cycling through a wide range of emotions and opening up wounds that I’ve pretended weren’t there for far too long. In the wake of our current state of civil unrest resulting from the murder of George Floyd and the systemic injustices suffered by countless other people of color, I feel compelled to join the growing chorus of voices and share one small part of my story.

I was recently moved by a video of officers from the Oakland Police Department sharing a moment of solidarity with demonstrators who were peacefully protesting in Oakland’s Old Town District, and I was reminded of my own experience with Oakland police not too long ago.

In the summer of 2017, I was in my home in Oakland, CA, relaxing over the weekend when I heard multiple loud bangs on my door. When I answered, two armed Oakland PD officers insisted that I let them search my house in response to reports they received of a woman screaming in the neighborhood. I had no idea what they were talking about. They had no warrant and no probable cause other than the fact that I was the only black person living on the block, which was otherwise populated with mostly white, well-to-do families.

Not knowing what to do, and out of fear that any sign of resistance on my part could lead to my arrest, bodily harm, or worse, I complied with their request and was forced to exit my house. One of the officers detained me outside, while the other searched throughout and around my home, all while my neighbors and other pedestrians stared at the scene unfolding in public. I felt violated, powerless, and ashamed.

I had nothing to hide, and eventually (after what felt like an eternity) the search concluded and the officers went on their way. It later turned out that one of my neighbors was working in her garden and got stung by a bee. No other homes were searched.

In the end I was fine, but there are far too many examples of similar incidents turning out much worse. And it shouldn’t have happened in the first place. In that moment, I remembered no matter how tidy you keep your lawn, no matter what level of success you achieve on paper, no matter how hard you work to be of service to the community and uplift the marginalized, you can still be profiled and treated like a criminal.

I share this not to vilify the police. I have great respect for those who serve and protect. But we must also acknowledge that such protection is not enjoyed equally by all people, and there must be accountability when people in uniform abuse their power.

I share this not to form an echo chamber with my fellow black friends and colleagues who can relate to this experience with countless examples of their own.

I share this not because I’m angry or hate-filled. I’m not looting, destroying property, or lighting things on fire. But I am acknowledging there is a part of me that has been hurt for a long time. And it’s time that we stop feeling ashamed of who we are and start using our voices.

I share this primarily with my friends who are in the the majority, who I truly believe to be good people and not racist, but may have a hard time relating to these experiences because it’s not similar to your own. It’s not just “those other black people” who get treated differently. It’s your college roommate, your boss, your neighbor, it’s the guy on your rec league basketball team. Just about every man or woman of color I can think of has a similar story.

To all of my friends wondering how you can help, here are some suggestions:

1) Have the uncomfortable conversations.

If this is an issue you care about, talk about it with your kids, friends, and co-workers.

If this is an issue you care about, let that show up in how you spend your money, who you vote for, and how you hold them accountable (more on that below).

If you have a platform, whether it’s social media, your business, or people who look up to you, will you use it?

This is a time we all should feel a little uncomfortable, because we ALL need to own this.

2) Support criminal justice and police reform.

I will be compiling a list of organizations that are doing good advocacy and policy work around these issues. It is equally important that we provide real-time support for those on the front lines, as well as sustaining the energy between crises, in order for policy demands to materialize as real legislative reform. I am happy to share this information and may do so in a separate post.

In the meantime, stay strong, and stay safe. I believe this is a moment in history that will help us create a better America, if we are kind to one another and work together.

“Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere”

- Martin Luther King, Jr.

--

--