Why I Ignored or Blocked You on LinkedIn

Chris Benson
2 min readOct 24, 2019

--

I’m an active LinkedIn influencer who has accumulated tens of thousands of connections. Along the way, I’ve also blocked or ignored thousands of people just like you. Why, you ask?

On my LinkedIn profile, I state my NO SOLICITATIONS policy very explicitly — both in my “headline” and at the top of the About section.

It’s really hard to miss.

You did one of the following:

  • Connected to me, and then solicited me in a message.
  • Solicited me in your connection request.
  • Asked a question to learn more about my company, my role, our requirements, our needs, or our operations (leading to a solicitation).
  • Asked for a phone call or meeting (for purposes of the above).
  • Asked a question that was likely to lead to a solicitation, even if the original question was not itself a solicitation.

That means that you are guilty of one of these two:

  • You didn’t have enough respect for me to review my profile before engaging me, which probably means that you’re uninterested and/or lazy.
  • You reviewed my profile, but chose not to respect my engagement policy, which means you didn’t respect me.

Either way, I don’t want to have a relationship with you since you do not respect me.

I use LinkedIn for one purpose only:
I enjoy having interesting non-transactional conversations with interesting people who do interesting things with good intent.

Thank you,
Chris Benson

--

--

Chris Benson

Chief AI Strategist @ Lockheed Martin • International Keynote Speaker • Co-Host, Practical AI Podcast • Gopher • Animal Advocate • Vegan • Dad • Husband