Concourse Cree — Goodison Park

Chris Chambers
3 min readDec 1, 2016

--

Hi, my name is Cree I support Spurs and this is my guide to Concourse’s at Football Grounds around the UK.

So you’re off to an away day? You’ve booked your train tickets, you’ve got some journey beers, perhaps even a hamper, including a Nuts magazine and wine gums to keep the energy up for a boozy away day. You’ll tick off your usual list, like best lap-dancing clubs in Swansea, the nearest Whetherspoons and how relaxed the Police are on a bit of offensive football chanting. BUT…. Have you checked out the concourse yet? No, probably not. Why would you? Well I’ll tell you why…… The Concourse makes or breaks an away day. The Concourse is the interlude to the stadium, the big game, and where you’ll carry out most your pre match singing. I’ve visited many Concourses in my time, and I can honestly say it’s where the match is won or lost…. or drawn. I’ll be uploading guides to Concourses for upcoming away days. So please keep a look out.

Goodison Park

Goodison Park is an old ground, and that shows in the Concourse. It’s supported by pillars and is very low, which gives for a cosy/claustrophobic feel. This, however, just adds to the impact, however, it’s not a great Concourse for being hungover. When you’re having a beery hug with a fat bloke you’ve never met and you’re squashed up inside his arse, and you can barely turn without having half your pint knocked over, you know that’s what football is all about.

I quite like that it’s small, when you’re drunk, it adds to the occasion but I’d only recommend songs that require little arm movement or bouncing. E.g. “I love Eric Dier”. You only have to twat the wrong person in the face when you’re losing 1–0 and all hell will break loose.

As you’ll notice from the photos below, the stewards just seem to stare at you…. bit weird. They never told me off, or caused any problems but they constantly just stand there staring at you. I’ve been to Goodison three times (never seen Spurs win there) and I’ve only once seen somebody reprimanded or chucked out but I think he was doing anti social things on the stairs or didn’t have a ticket, I can’t remember.

The menu for the Concourse is a bit basic, and the place where I first heard of “Bovril” or a “Scouse Pie”, (God know’s what is in that) but like many things in life, it’s best not to ask. They also have beers ready to go so queuing time is minimal despite the small outlets. I’m still non the wiser why they don’t do this at White Hart Lane and have to keep taking bottles off one by one. There is also Chang beer on the go (or it’s just warm Carling put in plastic Chang glasses), which is a nice change but I don’t think there are much choices other than that. The range of pies is pretty good, but there are no screens to watch the game whilst you’re in the Concourse. I do try watch all the game but usually nip down 41 mins in, or sometimes 5 mins in if the game isn’t going to plan. So it’s usually good to have a screen to rely on.

Overall I quite like the nostalgic-ness of Goodison’s vintage Concourse, but the lack of space let’s it down slightly. The capacity is higher than White Hart Lane but feels far less spacious due to the structure.

I’ll give it three out of 5 based on the points above. I was torn between this and 2.5 but I’ve had x2 beers and feeling slightly happier than normal. Next up will be Old Trafford.

Concourse Cree.

--

--