Shadows in the Rainforest — Shadows of the World

Is this our highest potential?

⭐ Chris Globale
5 min readApr 20, 2020
“Is this our highest potential? (Source: Pixabay)

The black outlines of the trees and leaves contrasted with the clear starry sky. Gradually the contrasts became blurred as dark shadowy figures crept around the rain forest. I sat cross-legged on the cold ground and the hallucinations became more intense.

We were deep in the rain forest of the Amazon, hosted in the village of an indigenous tribe. It was deepest night. I heard the shaman singing in the distance.

My peripheral perspective was widening more and more and like a sponge I was absorbing reality with full intensity. Faces and grimaces formed from the surrounding trees and stared at me.

In an instant a great sadness overcame me. It felt as if I had plugged into the wavelength of Mother Nature herself. I felt the world in its entirety and felt an overwhelming sense of powerlessness.

“Why does this world not work for everyone?”

Lifetimes of hopelessness, of lack of perspective, of imprisonment, of languishing in vegetation flashed through my being.

“Is this our highest potential? After all these millennia, do we still tolerate such conditions?”

These thoughts penetrated my consciousness like a sharp blade.

--

--

⭐ Chris Globale

deconstructing cultural patterns: one experience at a time