Home Food Recipes for fermented Hot Sauce, Mustard, Ale & Jams

Chris Hunter
24 min readAug 6, 2020

Quick Links: Ale | Mustard | Jam | Hot Sauce | Smoked Food

I recently gathered up all of my home food products for a group photo and realized that I’ve managed to create a half dozen various food products over the last couple years. After doing a few batches of fermented hot sauce back in 2015, I lost focus on home made fermented foods until about two years ago when I started home brewing. After dozens of brew days, I progressed to an intermediate level of home brewing and really began enjoying the hobby. Along the way I started to create fermented hot sauces again, and started to see some parallels between fermented food and home brewing.

Eventually in 2020, I came full circle back to lactic acid producing bacteria along with Saccharomyces ale yeast, which was a great experience and one that combined my first experimentation with fermented food together with my new passion for making tasty ales. The two hobbies share a large amount of knowledge overlap, as well as equipment, so it’s a natural progression for those who home brew to dabble in fermented foods, and vice versa.

After posting the below photo to a few home fermentation groups, there was an overwhelming demand for recipes to be shared, so I decided to put together a single article that would cover as much as possible in one…

--

--