Why Your Professional Accomplishments Aren’t Enough!

Chris LeBrun
4 min readJan 15, 2023

--

Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

Professionally speaking, 2022 was a good year.

My team successfully planned a large client conference — the first in-person client event for our company since the pandemic started. Not only did it go well, but attendance was also way above expectations.

We launched an online learning community for client training.

We got budget approval to increase our team by 40% in 2023. This will allow us to be more effective and efficient in 2023.

I also completed my Associates in General Insurance (AINS) designation from The Institutes.

Professionally speaking, 2022 was a good year.

But believe it or not, there’s more to life than just work.

Let me say that again. There’s more to life than just work!

The Three Pillars

It’s natural for us to put a lot of importance on our work. Many of us spend more of our waking hours at work than we do at home. We spend more time with our teams than our family members. I’ve traveled all over the world with co-workers, far more than I’ve traveled with my wife (unfortunately).

But for a lot of people, their job, title, and position become a huge part of their identity. It can be all-consuming.

What we can often forget is how important it is for us to have goals outside of work as well.

Productivity is not about doing more; it’s having the capacity to do what matters most. This extends beyond our role as a professional and into our personal lives as well.

Let’s face it, you probably have personal goals for you and your family. Maybe it’s to improve your fitness or your financial situation. Maybe you’re finishing up a degree or certificate program to add new tools to your toolbox.

High achievers and entrepreneurs often have other goals that give them purpose. Launching a or growing a side hustle; writing a book or recording an album.

These three areas — professional, personal, and purpose — are the three pillars that support a happier and more fulfilled life.

I call this concept wholistic productivity, because it allows you to move forward in every area of your life. This is the best way I’ve found to be happier and more fulfilled.

When I look back at 2022, it wasn’t just a good year professionally speaking. It was a pretty good year overall.

Despite getting COVID, I incorporated regular workouts into my weekly schedule and I’m in better shape than I have been in a long time.

I paid off my truck 18 months early and hit my goals for saving and investing.

I was able to visit Chichén Itzá and check off another one of the new Seven Wonders of the World (three down, four to go!) when my wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary in Cancun.

My LEGO resale business grew, including the number of minifigure listings I have on eBay and the inventory on my Bricklink and Brick Owl stores. All while staying on track for our anticipated sales revenue.

I laid the foundation for my 2023 goals of increasing my writing and coaching on productivity (you’re seeing the results of that here).

I also discovered a monthly toy show I can go to and sell LEGO. This was NOT one of my goals for 2022. I found a huge inventory of used sets to sell at the show, in addition to minifigures.

2022 was a pretty good year overall.

Wholistic Productivity

Let me be clear — I’m not saying you won’t be happy if you don’t have personal goals and purpose projects. My point is simply if you do have goals outside of your professional arena, you won’t be fulfilled unless you’re achieving all your goals.

I was able to reach my 2022 goals because I was intentional about planning and setting goals in all three pillars of life.

If your productivity system is only tracking your professional goals, you may lose sight of your personal goals or purpose projects.

Ben Franklin said, “By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail.”

As you develop a road map for achieving your goals and set your strategy each week, remember to practice wholistic productivity. Be intentional about incorporating your personal and family goals in you planning. Look at the projects that bring purpose and meaning to your life and develop plans for them as well.

I’d love to hear how you incorporate all three pillars in your planning. Do you have a favorite system or method for tracking goals outside your professional goals?

--

--

Chris LeBrun

I challenge entrepreneurs and high-performing individuals to ditch toxic productivity & adopt a healthy approach to wholistic productivity.