Christopher Ming
3 min readJun 18, 2020

--

What is MasterClass? What problem does it solve?

I’ve been working in online education for the last +6 years, and MasterClass has been in my periphery for as long. The first course I checked out was Christina Aguilera Teaches Singing. That was Fall of 2015.

Many friends talk about how much they enjoy MasterClass. This I attribute to their slick trailers and great ad targeting.

But what is MasterClass? What problem is it solving?

To answer this question, I started with the Reforge Use Case map from the Retention + Engagement Deep Dive program. In the map, we want to answer the following questions:

  • What problem does it solve?
  • Who is using it?
  • Why are they using it?
  • What’s the alternative?
  • How often are they using it?

There can be multiple use cases, but here’s what I landed on:

--

--

Christopher Ming

PM @Reforge. Prev @IWillTeach and @DennisLehane. Technology, Hollywood, business, restaurants.