21 Ways to Improve Your Mental Health Right Now

Chris Rackliffe
19 min readMar 30, 2020

Boost your mood and reclaim your joy with these tips.

I could barely get out of bed I was so emotionally drained.

I didn’t know what day of the week it was. I didn’t know what time of day it was. I didn’t know whether I was early or late or right on time. And I didn’t care. I rolled back over and went back to sleep. What’s the point of getting up when there’s nowhere to go? My thoughts trailed off as I slipped back into a sly slumber. A veil of groggy listlessness cascaded over me as I tip-toed to the tea kettle hours later.

But the caffeine couldn’t make a dent in my foggy head or my armored heart.

I knew my mental health was slipping. And I knew I wasn’t the only one experiencing the same. With the sweeping cultural changes that have happened in recent weeks, it’s no wonder we’re all anxious, worried and fearful. We’re in the midst of a worldwide traumatic event. Good sleep has been hard to come by. Uncertainty has gripped our hearts and squeezed so tightly that sometimes it feels like we might burst at the seams. Even those who’ve been able to maintain a modicum of normalcy during these tumultuous times are overcome with a stir-craziness that threatens to throw them off balance.

The novel coronavirus pandemic has swept the world and killed an astounding…

--

--

Chris Rackliffe

I paint with words. Check out my self-help book, It’s Good to See Me Again: How to Find Your Way When You Feel Lost: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B08DC69BTN/