The Eye-Opening Film “The Promise” and the Night I Met the Other Chris Cornell

Chris S. Cornell
4 min readJul 31, 2018

As part of my job at WOW Production Services, I frequently work on the online promotion of films in the months leading up to the theatrical release. I’ve helped promote a wide range of films — including horror films, chick flicks, and documentaries— but I was particularly enthused a couple of years back, when I learned we were going to be helping to promote “The Promise”, a historical drama directed by Terry George and starring Oscar Isaac, Charlotte Le Bon, and Christian Bale.

“The Promise” was set in the final years of the Ottoman Empire, and was made with the intention of bringing attention to the Armenian Genocide — the Ottoman government’s systematic extermination of 1.5 million Armenians. This was a part of history I’d previously known nothing about, and an atrocity that after more than a century has still not been formally acknowledged as a genocide by the United States.

Shortly after our company started working on the project, I learned I was not the only Chris Cornell involved with the film. It turned out the world-famous lead vocalist for the rock bands Soundgarden and Audioslave had been approached by “The Promise” producer (and well-known medical doctor) Eric Esrailian to write the title song for the film.

The world-famous singer Chris Cornell was amused and somewhat enthusiastic at the thought of posing for a photo with another Chris Cornell. Photo taken April 18, 2017 by Connie Cornell at Shun Lee West.

Though Cornell was not Armenian, when his friend Esrailian approached him about writing the song for a movie intended to bring awareness to the Armenian genocide, he was immediately supportive of the cause. Cornell’s wife Vicki is Greek, and her family had been affected by the same genocide that led to the death of 1.5 million Armenians.

“Literally, it’s the DNA that goes from my children back to my wife’s grandparents, who were both refugees of that policy,” Cornell told billboard.com. “It felt like that connection was there.”

“The Promise” was the final song Cornell recorded. Its haunting lyrics began…

If I had nothing to my name
But photographs of you
Rescued from the flame
That is all I would ever need
As long as I can read
What’s written on your face

Cornell’s vocals are accompanied by an orchestrated instrumentation by Paul Buckmaster. The song was recorded with a 24-piece orchestra.

Cornell donated his proceeds from the song to the International Rescue Committee, a global humanitarian aid, relief, and development organization.

I remember when I first became aware of Chris Cornell back in the late 80s when a co-worker, who wrote a music review column at the newspaper where I worked, tacked a promotional black-and-white glossy photo of the singer to the bulletin board above my computer terminal. He told me Cornell was going to hit it big.

Years later, I would occasionally deal with autograph seekers at hotels I was staying in, front desk attendants at the gym doing double takes when my name would pop up on the screen, and one nutty waiter at a restaurant in Maryland who wouldn’t leave me alone until I swore I was not the frontman for Soundgarden.

I always enjoyed Cornell’s voice, and although I never had the opportunity to see him in concert, I am a frequent listener of his music to this day.

On the night of April 18, 2017 my wife and I headed down to Manhattan for the New York premiere of “The Promise.” It was a star-studded affair, with paparazzi, an army of security, and a jam-packed theater.

I was caught off guard when I saw about ten prime seats taped off with “Chris Cornell” placards. “For me?” I wondered aloud, as my wife laughed.

After the premiere, my wife and I attended a post-premiere reception at the Shun Lee West restaurant on New York’s Upper West Side, along with WOW CEO Gerald Stern and his wife. We enjoyed some good food, and engaged in conversation about the film. We got the chance to talk with Esrailian about the film, and the impact it was making in the Armenian-American community and beyond.

As things started to wind down, our group started making plans to head home, it occurred to me that I might never get another chance to meet Chris, so I decided to take a quick walk to the back of the restaurant to see if he was still around. As I came around the corner, he was walking toward me. As we got closer, I awkwardly said something like “Hey, Chris, I’ve always admired your music. I thought you might be interested in meeting someone who shares your name.”

He looked slightly puzzled… “My name, it’s also Chris Cornell.” I said.

It looked as though he wasn’t sure if I was serious or not, but when he had determined I was, a big smile came across his face. I asked if he’d mind posing for a quick photo, and he immediately looked over at my wife, who was now standing a few feet away. He put his arm around me and posed for a couple shots taken by my wife, followed by a couple more taken by one of his friends.

In the few minutes that followed, Chris and I, and our wives, engaged in some friendly conversation about The Promise, his music, and, of course, our shared name. I left with a feeling that Chris Cornell, the musician, was a gracious, genuine, and decent human being.

I was truly stunned and, quite honestly, dismayed on the morning of May 18, 2017 when I learned of his passing. Over the course of that week, I listened to most of the music he left behind, including the haunting title song to The Promise.

To this day, a week doesn’t pass that I don’t listen to at least several of his songs: https://open.spotify.com/artist/0XHiH53dHrvbwfjYM7en7I?si=SHBvDGKgQC6s9BxXA7lHKw

--

--

Chris S. Cornell

Writer, editor, photographer. Work with independent filmmakers & businesses run by creative people. Work at WOW Production Services — http://wowproduction.com/