Tips from an Ultimate GM Qualifier — Part 2

Christian Malleck
4 min readJul 20, 2018

--

Recently, the second qualifier for the Ultimate Game Master Challenge was held, and a second winner was declared. I talked about this contest in a previous post, where I asked for some insights from the first winner. After hearing about the latest winner, Daniel Mahoney, who will be competing for the title at SkyCon in October of this year, I reached out in the hopes of learning some more useful DM tips to share with you. It was fascinating to see some of the differences in approach to GMing between the two qualifiers, and you’ll hopefully be able to determine whose style is more like your own after reading this.

Daniel started playing D&D back in 1992 with AD&D, though he has played many different systems since. He has less than fond memories of the THAC0 mechanic! He also has experience with Live Action Roleplay (LARP) which certainly broadens his GM skills. His favourite settings are Forgotten Realms, Ravenloft, and Darksun, especially enjoying the themes present in the those last two. Here are the questions I asked Dan, and his responses:

What is your personal philosophy around GMing, and what is the most important way you prep yourself for a session?

My personal style is along the lines of, “there are no rules, only guidelines”. I may say something not in line with the rules, but I do that for the story. I improvise a lot of what I do; don’t be afraid when your players decide to do something against your plans. Instead, roll with it and make them regret it! *insert evil grin*

My players both hate and love it when I sit back and watch them with a smile on my face. As for prep, I start with a beginning objective and a few NPCs in mind, and an end goal. Everything else, forget about it. Your players will mess it up.

What strategies would you give DMs who want to run their own content (not premade) but don’t know how to make something really original or exciting? How do you know you’ve planned something good before you’ve run it?

If you want to run original content, like your own world setting, I first recommend you set up limits on magic items and your economy; random tables are your friend. However, you will never know if it is good until you try it, and have some players you know who are brutally honest run through it, and give feedback. If it is good, you will know by the end of that session.

What do you feel no DM should ever do? Anything that is a cardinal sin, or something that really doesn’t do justice to the game?

First, if you have a problem player, never lash out at them in front of the other players. Take them aside, explain that you will not tolerate this behavior, and if it is about rules, you are the over god; you are in charge. Tell them why the rule is changed from what they thought (even if it is because you said so), but stick with it and don’t go back on it.

Second, don’t kill characters just because you can. If they die from their mistakes, fine, but don’t go out of your way to do it.

Finally, my personal hate is for rules lawyers. Aside from basic mechanics, everything else is just a guideline. If it doesn’t work for you as a GM, change it. However, also remember that if you okay a character, then you need to work with them. Don’t ignore their character build. If you don’t like it, just don’t allow it in the first place.

What is a piece of advice you’d give GMs that might be uncommon, or even unpopular?

One thing I have always disliked is min/maxers. They design characters just to make it so they can’t fail at their concept. Players should remember, if you min/max, then so do I. Anything you can do, I can do better as the GM, and I don’t feel bad about one shot killing characters who do that. You make a character who is flawed with something, I guarantee you will have more fun.

--

--

Christian Malleck

I’m a Dungeon Master. I’ve learned by trying every game I can get my hands on. These are the lessons other DMs aren’t sharing, kept short and simple.