He Barely Even Touched Me

Christina Fraggos
6 min readAug 21, 2018
Photo by pragmart on Unsplash

The walk took no more than 10 minutes and I did it almost every day.

The bus stop was about five blocks from home. Taking a right out of my apartment building, I’d walk half a block down the white cobblestone sidewalk. At the end of the block I’d take a right, walk half a block, take a left, and then walk three blocks to the bus stop.

One night I’d been out with friends from school. We all went to Haagen Daz for ice cream before heading home. I didn’t want to pay for a cab back to my apartment since I’d just splurged on overpriced yet underwhelming ice cream, so I decided to catch a bus instead. They were still running for at least another hour and, as a poor college student, taking public transportation seemed like the responsible thing to do.

It was around eleven o’clock when I got off of the almost empty bus. One other person got off at my stop, and he walked ahead of me as we walked down the same street.

Three blocks down, then turn right. Half a block, then turn left. Half a block to my apartment.

I didn’t pay much attention to him at first. He was just somebody walking ahead of me. The streets were well lit, but quiet and empty except for the cars occupying the highly coveted parking spots of our thickly settled neighborhood.

--

--