8 Ways to Up Your Productivity

Christina Love
5 min readMay 5, 2016

--

Many of us are victims to distractions, big and small, that pull the day right out from under us. Before we know it, there’s a pile of after-hours work that “has to be completed.” In a perfect world, we’d walk away at the close of business hands clean of the day’s work. I’m lucky to do that, but not because my career isn’t demanding.

A few of my colleagues approached me to learn how I accomplish all that I do within “normal” business hours. (Apparently I’m more productive than I give myself credit.) So I took that as my cue to share the tricks of my trade.

But first, here’s how most of us are approaching our days:

  • More hours equates to more work.
  • “Yes” is a magical word.
  • Massive to-do lists are king.
  • Stepping away is not an option.
  • Personal goals aren’t a thing.

Have you ever heard someone say, “If only I had 20 more hours in my day, I could do more work?” I certainly have. We start to take on work as our life instead of integrating work into our lives. We organize our days with the mindset we can tackle it all, but that’s far from reality. I’m here to help you with a method to manage your workload effectively.

Full disclosure: These tips are no way backed by science (that I know of); purely how I walk away each night feeling victorious.

Get Sh!t Done

Let’s start with the top three actions you should take. I hope you roll your eyes as you read them; the audience rolled their eyes.

  1. Wake up early
  2. Exercise
  3. Eat Healthy

There’s a reason these top three actions are in every article, or “listicle,” about productivity that you’ll ever read — because they work. I’m a walking, talking example. But these aren’t the only actions that you can or should take.

4. Stop working overtime.

Gasp! You ask, “How will I ever complete my tasks?” My answer: use business hours as a gauge of how much time you have to finish your work. Scientifically, the more you work, the less productive you are. Shorten your workday from 60 hours to 50 hours and from 6 days to 5 days, and you’ll be amazed at how much more you can accomplish. On the one-off occasion that you have to work overtime, set yourself a deadline, so you still have time to unwind.

Start by doing what’s necessary; then do what’s possible; and suddenly you are doing the impossible. — Francis Of Assisi

5. Become a “no” man.

We’re all guilty of saying yes to too many people, personally and professionally. I’m guilty. That’s how we end up with a to-list longer than the Mississippi River and increased anxiety from missing deadlines. Now, I’m not telling you always to respond with no. You need to evaluate whether or not what you’re being asked to do provides value for you and what you need to accomplish. If it doesn’t, then kindly respond with no thanks. If you’re unsure, then ask questions until you can make an educated decision.

6. Find the method to your madness.

What works for one may not work for others, so it’s on you to find the organizational tools, situation and vibe to perform at your best. For me, my tasks are in my head; I’m most productive before noon; and I turn up 80s jams as a reward on Fridays. Who doesn’t love upbeat tunes to set the tone for the weekend?

No matter if you write to-do lists in an app, on a napkin or keep them in your head, it’s most important that your daily list is realistic and obtainable. I try to maintain a list of 3–8 tasks, depending on their level of effort. Try working in different locations until you find the perfect spot, and explore different playlists until you find one that puts you in the groove. Honestly, this step is all trial-and-error.

7. Know when to move on.

Think back to last time you spent an entire day on one task that should have taken a few hours. You suffered from the lack of motivation, or your brain was in cognitive overload. Prevent this from occurring by prioritizing your day into batches, so you only have so many hours to complete one task; when the time is up, move on. Next time you say to yourself, “I can’t look at this anymore! I’ve been working on it too long,” think about me — I told you so. This theory also goes hand-in-hand with forgoing perfection. Done is better than perfect.

Speaking of finishing work, let’s consider using Pareto’s Principle. The infamous 80/20 rule suggests a few things (20%) are responsible for the majority (80%) of your output. That means focusing your energy on the key elements produces the greatest result. On the flip side, putting forth 80% of your effort results in only 20% output. So identify the most valuable tasks necessary to complete your goal.

Pareto’s Principle

Starring blankly at the computer screen doesn’t help you finish a task either. Given that I work at a digital creative agency, and the majority of my output is, well, creative, I experience writer’s block quite frequently. When it happens, that’s when you know you need a break. Go for a walk and get fresh air, maybe you’ll find some inspiration on your way around the block. If not, switch gears from your right brain to your left brain and come back to your creative task later.

8. Set a goal

The final, but most important, step to optimal productivity: setting a goal. I’ll give you a hint; the major key is small wins. Don’t tell yourself you’ll complete eight tasks today that all require a top score on your level of effort scale. Instead, work towards completing at least two of the tasks by your 11 a.m. meeting.

Goals don’t have to change every day. I have two standing goals — daily and weekly. I allow myself to work until 8 p.m. on weeknights. That equates to five extra hours of work every week (if necessary). And, who wants to work weekends? I don’t. Given the nature of #agencylife, it’s inevitable at times, but my weekly goal helps me avoid it when I can. I prioritize my work days accordingly so come the close of business Friday I’m walking away, giving myself high-fives. And so can you!

What do you do to be more productive? I’m always looking to improve my ways!

A version of this article is posted on LinkedIn.

--

--

Christina Love

Product Marketing Manager // MBA @radfordu // Former Sr. Content & Marketing Strategist @prplrckscssrs // Mission: Try every restaurant everywhere