How I Almost Bricked My Brand New Phone

Christopher Lam
5 min readJul 13, 2022

--

I was so excited to set up by brand new Pixel 6 until I almost rendered it useless!

As a tech enthusiast, I had spent many months researching different smartphones to find the option with the best hardware and software. At last, I was thrilled to decide on the Pixel 6, which offers powerful processing power, a beautiful screen, and a high quality camera among many other features!

One key element to which I looked forward is an easy-to-unlock bootloader with good support for custom operating systems. Specifically, I wanted to install Graphene OS, an operating system built on the Android Open Source Project (AOSP) with privacy and security improvements.

My plan was to purchase a brand new Pixel 6, install Graphene OS via the official web installer, and then be on my way to enjoying my selection. The Graphene OS web installer has nice graphical interface with just a few simple steps to follow until the installation is complete. I followed the instructions and used the factory USB-C cable as recommended. Perhaps I was naive to think my experience would be so easy.

The installation began and seemed to be running well, but to my dismay, the installer stopped and output an error message halfway through the process! I remained calm and thought perhaps I could repeat the installation and be successful. However, several retries were to no avail. Then, I really started to panic.

As it turned out, the installer had fully wiped the factory operating system from my phone but now could not install a new one! I hoped I could return the phone to its original state by trying to install stock Android from Google rather than Graphene OS, but once again the process failed to complete and showed that terrifying red error text.

Now, I really felt overwhelmed with stress. For the first time, I considered the possibility that I could not fix this problem — that either the solution was beyond my knowledge or that I had already corrupted the phone for good. I was devastated at the idea that I had not only failed, but that I had done so at the expense of $800 for what was now a useless brick. Maybe I could use my bricked phone as a fancy paperweight when working outside.

Despite all these negative thoughts, I refused to give up. In fact, my mind was so busy brainstorming possible issues and solutions that I barely slept that night. I tried switching to the command line installer, switching operating systems, and even switching laptops. Still, I had nothing more than a brick.

I thought that someone somewhere had to have a solution. I reached out to my friends with experience installing custom phone operating systems so we could ponder the issue together. I then scoured forums online to try and find another instance of the same problem. I noticed a comment that said one user solved his problem by switching to a USB-A cable instead of a USB-C cable. Suddenly, a lightbulb turned on!

I recalled my problem-solving process thus far with a scientific perspective — I had manipulated many variables from the installer to the operating system to the physical hardware of the laptop, but one that had remained constant was my use of a USB-C cable.

With newfound determination, I threw the factory USB-C cable aside and grabbed a USB-A cable to connect my phone and my laptop. I retried the installer and anxiously awaited the progress of the coloured bar. The moment I saw the installation progress pass the point at which it had been previously stuck, I was incredibly relieved! And when the installer confirmed that Graphene OS had been successfully flashed to my phone, I was overjoyed!

Exitedly, I rebooted my phone and savoured every moment of the Graphene OS boot screen display. Then, I entered my new operating system. The tremendous troubles I faced in reaching this moment made me appreciate Graphene OS even more than I had imagined. Not only was the setup and operation smooth-sailing from there with impressive privacy and security features, but I had a fantastic tale to tell about the ups and downs of my problem-solving process. After all, every good engineer has a story about a risk taken when he looks failure in the eye and says, “No, I’m not giving up!” as he finds a solution.

This experience although almost resulting in my loss of $800 was an invaluable exercise of perseverance. I learned that the key word is “almost,” because with innovation comes inevitable risk. After all, NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) was founded thanks to Caltech students who “almost” got themselves killed testing rockets in their dormitory! I look forward but at the same time dread what adventures I will seek out next!

--

--

Christopher Lam

Christopher Lam is a Canadian student with a passion for writing and sharing ideas. Read about technology, watches, business, politics, history, and lifestyle.