Triumph Thruxton R

Christopher Swales
3 min readOct 31, 2023

The bike of my dreams. The 2016 Triumph Thruxton R. This was a bike that I have always yearned for, ever since the original Thruxton was introduced way back in like 2004 I believe.

Now I have had motorcycles in the past, mostly sportbikes, But as I started getting older ( I’m only 35 now), I started to want to slow down a bit with my riding, and really just relax. It wasn’t until I sold my Ducati 848 back in in 2014 that I started to entertain the idea of a cafe racer. I lived in my Philadelphia most of my life, so being on the coast near major cities so close to New York City, you tend to follow trends. Or at least so I thought… Or think? I don’t know, don’t judge me. All Im trying to say is, is at the time, custom cafe racer style bikes built from old school 70’s Honda CB’s were all the rage back than. And I was hooked.

Old school 1972 Honda Cb450 cafe racer build

So after a few years without a motorcycle now and years of research on whether or not i should build mine own cafe racer or buy new. I came across the third iteration of the Triumph Thruxton. The Thruxton R. It was then that I truly fell in love again with motorcycles. It had the old school styling and sex appeal of James dean and Steve Mcqueen mixed with new school handling, power, and electronic…

--

--

Christopher Swales

Freelance photographer with an interest in automotive culture and story telling. Currently working towards obtaining my certification in Digital marketing