MOBILE MOBA IN THE PHILIPPINES: HEROES EVOLVED VS MOBILE LEGENDS

Christopher Bryan Garcia
4 min readOct 8, 2017

--

Image courtesy of YouTube Personality Gemik

Multiplayer Online Battle Arena are the games that are trendy in the Philippines today , Examples like League of Legends and DOTA are one of the few examples of hit MOBA games in our country, with MOBA games being off the charts, Mobile MOBA is rising as well with better smart phone graphics. The MOBA game that we are used playing in our desktops can now be played in our own mobile phone meaning we can play it anywhere in the tip of our fingers. So if you are reading this article, you might be asking, what’s the best mobile MOBA right now and the first thing that comes to our minds is Heroes Evolved and Mobile Legends: Bang Bang being that this games are the most talked about in the country right now. So here is my criteria in rating MOBA games:

· Smoothness: 25/25

· Visuals : 15/15

· Game play: 30/30

· Controls: 25/25

· Community: 5/5

Image courtesy of Heroes Evolved/ https://he.r2games.com/

Smoothness

Based on me playing both games right now, Mobile Legends for me has become smoother now because of the added servers and that it has actually improved which for me is a big deal because a game can never be fun because of the lag issue, Heroes Evolved is a better option right now when it comes to avoiding lag because the community is not as big compared to Mobile Legends. I also like that the Heroes Evolved game lets you choose your own server in order to find out if the server at the time is experiencing lag or not.

Heroes Evolved: 20/25

Mobile Legends: 19/25

My Verdict: The difference is not as big because both of the games has been able to fix the lag issue for a while but still when servers are crowded and game servers having problems, Both games and its player base will still encounter this issue.

Visuals

In the visuals department, Heroes Evolved is stunning even at its lowest resolution setting and the game is gorgeous. Mobile Legends on the other hand is pretty visually stunning at times but switching to low resolution makes the MOBA game sometimes outdated in the visuals department.

Heroes Evolve: 13/15

Mobile Legends: 11/15

My Verdict: Heroes Evolved is no doubt better than mobile legends but the graphics aren’t too much far from each other.

Gameplay:

Game play is one of the most important assets of a video game. Let’s start off with Heroes evolved, game play is nonetheless very similar to the MOBA games in the pc but for me, mobile MOBA should be much more user friendly when it comes to game play , Heroes evolved in my opinion lacks tutorials that makes me guessing what should I do with my items, the wards system and many more was left unexplained for a new player like me. Mobile Legends on the other hand was very user friendly and that the game was straight up very simple to learn which made me play the game a lot more compared to Heroes evolved. Both still is pretty much user friendly with an automatic item recommendation system for new players and clear cut objectives but I honestly know that mobile legends: bang bang is the better game in providing a good game play from the two.

Heroes Evolved: 23/30

Mobile Legends: 26/30

My Verdict: Heroes Evolved is fun to play but I honestly feel that the game lacks in making a strong impact for me when I play the game, Mobile Legends on the other hand provides me a fun gameplay and a competitive rank game properly but what I do hate from this game is that it kept me from giving a perfect score is the bugs and issues that the game encounters at times.

Controls:

Controls for both games are exceptionally easy to learn and that it fits the proper controls for a proper MOBA .

Heroes Evolved: 24/25

Mobile Legends: 25/25

My Verdict: Mobile Legends edges out heroes evolved because of its controls being much more easier to learn and easy to adapt with new players.

Image courtesy of Mobile Legends:Bang Bang/https://www.mobilelegends.com/

Community:

Mobile Legends bang bang has a strong player base with over 10 million downloads from around the world while heroes evolved has been downloaded for over 5 million downloads.

Heroes Evolved: 3/5

Mobile legends: 5/5

My Verdict: Mobile Legends wins with a better player base.

Final Scores:

Heroes Evolved: 83/100 Good

Mobile Legends: 86/100 Great

Final Verdict:

Mobile Legends Bang Bang is indeed a better game but Heroes Evolved is no slouch in providing a mobile MOBA experience, In my personal opinion, Mobile Legends Bang Bang is the game to go because of the game pushing towards a strong e-sports competition for its players while Heroes Evolved as of the moment has just been starting their mini e-sports competition. Both games will still need lots of improvement but I do know that Mobile MOBA is one of the best types of games right now.

--

--

Christopher Bryan Garcia

Former Writer / Senior Editor at the Innovator. Does human emotion interest you?