Christopher Frederic Lapinel
1 min readSep 8, 2021

Hunter’s Moon

I lost it all because of you- yet it
has always been
an ugly cipher…
I rarely know what it is or follow
the vagaries to which it refers to
half of the time
all I see is that it
is something lost

Time was when all I wanted comprised in
sitting with you beneath a cobalt sky
and a bright Australian moon…
colored with reflections of a coursing
need too deep for any comprehension
but then you dashed your hand through this picture;
your pretty hand the masterstroke of its
dissolution

I lost it all because of you but I
credit you
no wisdom
in such serendipitous theft for I
was its master and slave- creator and
destroyer of all this time that I had
to see
unsee
love and
unlove

And when and should I see and love again
in the tidal pull that waxes over
the firming imprint of new illusions
you shall have had no hand in this- my love.

###

Christopher Frederic Lapinel

Image of a silver, burnished labyrinth with a star at the center on a blue field.
Christopher Frederic Lapinel

C.F. Lapinel: Managing Director and Editor for the Bluestone Scribe. German-Cuban American writer. Multi-ethnic, multi-racial, and multitudinously grateful.