What I write about as a technical writer

For fellow technical writers out there

Chris Karvouniaris
6 min readJan 7, 2024
Image from Unsplash

Introduction

When I started writing for Medium, back in June 2023, it was a simple experiment for me as I was just exploring the difficulty of the endeavour. I was reading a lot of technical pieces on Medium and I was intrigued to try on my own.

Seeing how easy it was to get started, I couldn’t resist the attempt so I wrote my first article to checkout the experience. It was on Python programming language and the topic was about decorators. I knew that it was a popular topic in general and many pieces where already out there demonstrating the concept, but it didn’t really matter for me in this first try, as I wanted to just have an estimate on the effort needed and on my writing skill level.

As it turned, the attempt was quite a success, to my eyes at least. Medium stats page enabled the monitoring of how the article performed and it wasn’t bad at all for a first piece. After that, I knew I had found a productive hobby for my leisure time.

Why write at all?

The answer to that question was pretty straightforward for me. It really is all about contributing back to the community.

--

--