GISH. A bizarre scavenger hunt that renews my childlike wonder every year.

Christy Beal
3 min readAug 7, 2020

--

This is a black and white photo of the author in a 1950s style dress vacuuming the lawn with an upright vacuum cleaner.
The author trying to incorporate some housework during GISH week. GISH (GISHWHES) 2015 Do your best 1950’s June Cleaver impression and vacuum the lawn

GISH (The greatest international scavenger hunt) is a week-long break from the day-to-day fears, anxieties, and normality that are necessary, but exhausting, parts of my everyday life. One week a year near the end of summer GISH takes over the life of my entire family. We go from Friday night movies to Friday night chaos, and it is glorious. Not only does GISH remind me that life is joyous, the world is beautiful, and we are surrounded by art, but it reminds me of many other things too:

GISH reminds me to play like a child. As I have aged my play has become more serious and strictly planned. I arrange one hour to bike with friends — and what was supposed to be a casual ride inevitably turns into a wind-sucking race. It is fun, but it’s never spontaneous, and it is never silly, childish fun. Don’t get me wrong: I love it, but it is a very different kind of play than things like running out the front door on a Saturday morning and trying my hardest to build a giant fort in the woods while fighting off imaginary pirates. GISH is fighting imaginary pirates kind of fun. Somehow the challenges bring back my child-like joy in the world. During GISH week the phrase “it seemed like a good idea at the time” becomes something to laugh about later, rather than something filled with regret.

The author and her husband dressed in buisness clothing holding a board meeting underwater in a pool
The author and her husband balancing the accounts. GISH (GISHWHES) 2017: Challenge “Your company has gone underwater.”

GISH reminds me to look at the everyday objects around as having artistic potential. We complain tongue-in-cheek that the week is full of unreasonable pain and suffering, particularly since each day of the event brings another outrageous challenge or three. But, in the process of completing a series of seemingly impossible things, my perspective of what is possible broadens. Tasks that I dismissed on day one end up milling around in my mind and within a few days my perspective has changed. That along with the cooperation of our team, it feels as though the impossible becomes possible.

Before I found GISH I was reserved, self-conscious and nervous in the face of unpredictability. I had forgotten my childish views of play, joy, and beauty and I had replaced them with a more reserved, adult version. Participating in GISH reminds me once a year that life, even at its most stressful, can be joyous and magical.

The author in a bathrobe with coffee and a newspaper in the garden next to an elaborate mosaic toilet.
GISH challenges incorporate unexpected art. The author starting her day right with a mosaic toilet. GISH 2018 challenge. “Home Improvement time! Why are toilets always white? Beautify a toilet with mosaic tile (either with broken tiles or tiny tiles) to give it some vitality and warmth.”

--

--

Christy Beal
0 Followers

Christy Beal is an entomologist and an avid triathlete. She has participated in GISH since 2014.