Why I Got The Urge to Write

Christopher Erwin
3 min readSep 13, 2015

“My cup is more than full. It is spilling over.”

The past few months have been a whirlwind.

My twin brother got married (I gave the speech of a lifetime), got promoted at work, separated from my longtime girlfriend, and decided to live alone for the first time…ever.

These events alone easily inspire a need to write; a need to vent, be heard, cheer and gripe. But as I reflect, these events come up short in explaining this feeling taking over me.

Early morning sunrise. Pacific Coast Highway, Malibu.

My inspiration is more basic. More inherent.

Whether at home, at work, or at play, I interact with life how I want it to be; with integrity, excitement and positivity, and then garnished with a will to always be better.

I strive to instill these values into all my experiences and all people I come in contact with. This is a mission I take on wholeheartedly and with real purpose. But can I do more? Yes.

I have the urge to inspire greatness - greatness that permeates my family, friends, workplace, and the serendipitous interactions that give us the chance to lean more forward into life.

A strong point of view is the bedrock of change,
particularly when guided by a rich moral compass.

In this blog, I will give back and share: learnings, experiences, opinions and observations. Overall, events and happenings that have shaped my story, which is one of exceptional community and peers, (some) success and a portfolio of life experiences that have enriched me beyond my wildest dreams.

The Big Frame team at a company offsite in Santa Monica. This is my other family — very near and dear to my heart.

For this I am grateful. My cup is more than full. It is spilling over.

Nevertheless, I stay leaning forward.

Recently, a close friend defiantly stated that everyone must have a point of view. How simple a notion, yet often so elusive. I have taken this to heart.

A strong point of view is the bedrock of change, particularly when guided by a rich moral compass. Change leads to betterment, and sometimes even greatness.

This blog will be my point of view. 32 years in the making and in constant refinement.

Contemplating my point of view. South Kuta, Bali.

--

--