The San Francisco Exploratorium

Chuck Cai
3 min readSep 24, 2022

--

A few days ago, when the heat wave struck the Bay Area, I was stuck at home, bored and wanting to go somewhere indoors to escape the heat outside. It was then that I remembered what a friend said to me,

“Go to the San Francisco Exploratorium, Its indoors and very fun!”

I always trust my friends’ ideas so I decided to go the following morning. As it was planned, I gathered up some of my friends and went to the Exploratorium.

Once we arrived, the traffic was horrible with horns honking and people shouting, but we still managed to find a parking space and walk with the crowd to the huge, closed doors flanking the entrance to the Exploratorium. Peaking over the long line, I saw that on the doors a sign said

“PLEASE CLOSE THE DOORS FULLY BEHIND YOU TO NOT LET THE COOL AIR ESCAPE.”

I heaved a sigh, as standing outside was swelteringly hot. At long last, it was our group’s turn. As we closed the doors fully, a blast of cold air came whooshing past, making our party of 10 feel much cooler and walk deeper inside the building. A sign and a line that proceeded to the ticket checking counter separated the building. Since we had already bought tickets, we headed down the left lane, the express lane and got priority getting the tickets checked. Then, as quick as rushing water, we were in the main part of the museum.

The place was packed with people. I saw a machine that was filled with water and we walked towards it. One of my friends said,

“ I see a knob; let’s all turn it together!”

Another friend started a countdown

“3, 2, 1”

We all turned the mysterious knob and looked at the cylinder container. Suddenly, water started pouring out of a tube that was situated on top of the cylinder. The water in the cylinder swiveled around, forming a small tornado that moved in a circle. We also went to a spinning chair, a marble game, and a lightning zapping thing and a step-on light bulb activity.

The two most fun activities were the generating power one and the bubble section. The power generator was where you use your hands to pull on the lever to make energy. We used the energy by blowing a hair dryer. As for the bubbles, it was just a fun place to play and experiment using different sizes and shapes to make bubbles, it was very exciting.

Afterwards, we went on a boat to clear off the hot feelings!

I very really enjoyed this museum; it was the best of all the others that I went to. Hope you can go!

tornado!
mechanics
bubbles!

--

--

Chuck Cai

I live in the bay area and goes to museums in California (sometimes in US) Every week I post a article about the museum I go to.