Chukwudi Isaac
3 min readFeb 18, 2017

--

Day 2: 30-Day Writing Challenge

THE GIFT OF BOREDOM

According to the Macmillan English Dictionary, ‘boring’ means ‘not at all interesting, and making you feel impatient or dissatisfied’ and this has been the lot of many people. They are dissatisfied with their job, marriage, school, career etc. because they find it boring and over time, hence they tend to fill such dissatisfaction with something that ‘satisfies’ but the question is that ‘can anything really satisfy a man?’
As the popular cliché goes, ‘an idle man is the devil’s workshop.’ I am sure that we all have had moments when we are so bored that our mind goes on a wild goose chase but we sometimes catch a gander then we set out to catch a goose and if we are lucky, we catch it but if not, we may still resort to such circles over and over again.
Over time, I have heard people say ‘that person’ or ‘movie’ or whatever they had initially showed interest in is boring and I tend to wonder, ‘is there a benchmark or standard for boredom?’ I will say that we can infer that boredom to an individual is boring. Let me give an example, I have heard people say I am interesting and others say I am boring but the truth is that I ‘feel’ I am boring.
Owing to that fact, I decided to learn a lot of things when bored so I considered it a gift. In January, 2014 I was working in Abuja and I was staying in a friend’s house. I remember learning that was when I first picked up the guitar to play and over time, after I had learnt to play a particular key (C, thanks to Suny Iji) to be precise, I got bored and tried G and then the G-power chord (thanks to Binga) and so on and so forth under the tutelage of my multiple teachers and all these started on that day in January when I was bored and I picked up the guitar for the first time.
Boredom is a gift if channeled properly just that we do not know. The youths of our day do not know this and hence some have become a menace to themselves and others in the world.
As I summarize, I want to point out something: anytime someone is bored, time is ticking and when we do not utilize such time for something productive, we tend to feel dissatisfied about everything in our lives.
We have to see every time of our lives as gifts from God so what we do really matters with it because in the end there will be no excuse for boredom being the reason for any irresponsible act.
When next we say we are bored or we feel bored, we are to see it as an opportunity to discover our inner passion, talent, or skill and not a time to complain or always feel like a part of us is not complete.
Let’s make every time of our lives count.

#30daywritingchallenge

--

--

Chukwudi Isaac

Never lose yourself and value in your pursuit of anything in life