An Open Letter to One of my Best Friends on her birthday

Ciara Bell
3 min readAug 21, 2018

--

An open letter to one of my favorite girls Lou-Lou,

We’ve been glued to each other years now, as many people know we were partners in crime, inseparable. In recent years we fell out, our first major fight and for a long while I was angry at you, angry that someone who was the torn in my side could hurt me, could just leave without a proper goodbye. Part of me just did not want to believe it was happening.

Things were strained and for a long while I felt we would never be as close as we were, And I was right because we are not as close as before because we are closer than ever. We settled our differences and I am glad we did because your still one of my favorite people and you introduced me to the most special little girl our Kayleigh. Today is a day dedicated to you and for you to realize that just because you are across the water doesn’t change how appreciated you are and how much our friendship means to me. It’s a day to celebrate your life, an eye opener for you to see than many people around you celebrate you, celebrate the friendship you bring, the laughs and silliness.

So, Happy Birthday girl! Another year has gone by! I love you for all that you are, for all our memories from crashing out on a Sunday watching love/hate then a late night stroll to McDonalds for ice-cream and chips, all of the fun times from managing to go out Friday/Saturday and the occasional Sunday, all of the times we’ve supported each other like me stripping off my socks to give them to you when we were walking home in the freezing cold from the inn or the multiple times I would put your drunken ass to bed after a night out, or the best one yet is when I first got you drunk and on the way home you puked in the taxi, sick all over the back of the taxi man his poor head, meanwhile I covered for you and said you just choked on the water you were drinking, I am thankful for all of the times we’ve grown both together and apart. From the inn days, to concerts to the Diva days to just plain old sleepovers. So many more beautiful memories we have to cherish. We’ve really become a part of each other’s journey, and I wouldn’t have it any other way. We are always going to be those two who are double trouble, partner in crimes, sidekicks through all the happy, sad, angry moments in life. Lou-Lou you’re more than a friend, you’re a sister. I love you like a sister and all that comes with that because ohana means family and, family means nobody gets left behind or forgotten.

You never know where this next year will take you, but why should that stop you. I hope this is a year where you smile a lot, learn a lot, and love a lot. I hope you discover something new and exciting, hold on to what you’ve always loved before, and find something unexpected that will amaze you like nothing else, because honestly those are the best surprises.

Not going to lie, some things will change. Nothing can stay the same forever. But there will always be one fan cheering you on, a person to laugh with who loves you unconditionally, and a sarcastic friend who will keep you in your place while still supporting you to no end. And why is this? Look back at all those years (wow, you’re getting old better bring that walking stick), and look at the kind of person you’ve become. It took a long time to get here but you are here. You changed my life, you gave me so many precious memories, heart-felt laughs, heartbreak but most of all a friendship that will last for life. Keep smiling, keep making memories, cherish every moment in life and most importantly remember you are loved.

All my love,

Cece xo

--

--