On 100 Days of Creating

One Hundred Days of Doors + Haikus

Cindy Tong
4 min readJun 21, 2016

One hundred days ago, I started my 100 Day Project (#100DaysofDoors) with the intention of finding my creativity groove. My challenge was simple: I would photograph a different door I came across in San Francisco and write a haiku every day for one hundred days (I may have cheated on SF with LA once.) Sometimes my haikus were directly related to the door, someone I saw nearby or a recent event. Most of the time, it was about what was on my mind. Unexpectedly, my simple project evolved into a medium through which I could work through my thoughts.

Here is a retrospective of my initial goals for this project:

Goal 1: Encourage me to explore a new city

I’ve walked in the rain through Muir Woods, descended 308 steps to America’s most dangerous lighthouse on the West and almost got whipped by a sea lion in pursuit of doors.

Goal 2: Improve my writing

5–7–5. I think in terms of haikus now.

Goal 3: Add some discipline into my life

My project became part of my daily ritual. It grounded me to a schedule and gave me stability.

Goal 4: Battle some of my insecurities

I was very hesitant in the beginning of sharing my work and I am a notch more comfortable with this now. I’ve learned this is an ongoing process.

Goal 5: Refine my observation skills

I have given myself permission to chase my curiosity.

Although this may be the end of my 100 day project, I am excited for what I will create next. Here are the lessons I will carry with me:

  • Open your eyes.
  • It will not come to you. Go after it.
  • Do not replay the same story
  • There might not be a tomorrow.
  • Not every door needs to be opened.
  • You are not alone.
  • Do it for yourself.
  • Embrace the process.
  • Let (it) go.
  • You are your worst critic.
  • You are your best critic.

Thank you to everyone who supported me throughout my 100 days of creating. Thank you for reading, following me on Instagram (@cinnedt) , encouraging me, not getting annoyed when I wandered off in mid-conversation searching for my next shot, sending me door inspirations, letting me flood your social media feeds and inspiring me daily.

Now onto windows…

Some of my Favorites (to see my entire project, visit @cinnedt):

--

--