Founders Legacy

Nexon Computer Museum

Jangho J. Choi
2 min readApr 13, 2017

While in Jeju, I was able to visit Nexon Computer Museum. It has been a great way to see what makes Korea Internet today.

When I was a kid, I took Nexon games very seriously. I loved playing games and played each and every one of these application softwares. I would wake up 6am, start playing and not stop untill I had mastered them. Playing these games with my friends gave me great joy. Games and applications became my best friend and how to be a goal-oriented individual, I started using the personal computer and my life has completely changed as a result of the government Internet policy in 2000 which led to a nation-wide Internet revolution.

Every once in a while a revolutionary product comes along that changes everything. It’s very fortunate if you can work on just one of these in your career — Steve Jobs

I would say that one of my favorite experiences was talking with local activists there. I met with Boin (Social Contribution Team Manager at NXC Corporation) to find out what new things they were working on. NXC invests in valuable digital ideas and technologies, as well as being involved in numerous community service activities and cultural projects. I had an enjoyable dinner with Boin. I am delighted to have such an esteemed activist in this vital role here in Korea. He is one of the nicest people I have ever met.

I found some time to spend catching up with Jay(Founder at Nexon and CEO at NXC). I think that he is a great entrepreneur and investor, who has made the world’s leading developer and provider of online entertainment contents. One of the reasons for that is the fact that he brings together not only Koreans, but people from all over the world. The most important thing is he gives people a bigger vision of where we can go. It is really impressive to see him to talking about the topic of going global and building the company. He has been the visionary for a truly global approach to digital ideas and technologies. He is my hero. So I just apply his capabilities, his mindset, and his leadership mantra. It was great to see him again.

The Computer, an Idea that Changed the World

Change doesn’t happen overnight, but it was a first step I took in my youth with great computer applications played great role in motivating me

Jangho J. Choi

--

--