Wilder

C.J. CardiacDrop
9 min readJun 30, 2024

--

Pure Imagination and Remembering Gene Wilder

“I’m funny on camera sometimes…In life, once in a while… — Gene Wilder

When I was a kid, I saw Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.

I have never been touched more in my life than by that film.

It was partly because of its charm and its music but it was mostly because of Willy Wonka.

Now anyone could have been cast for that film, but no other actor could have given the performance than Gene Wilder did and that’s a fact.

The film, an instant sensation was released the year I was born in 1971, so I didn’t see it until many years later.

Growing up in Boston, Massachusetts- we had a local TV station, WLVI Channel 56.

It was my favorite channel and they played tons of classic cartoons, children’s programs, syndicated sitcoms, WWF wrestling, movies and so much more.

Channel 56, even had the best Creature Feature program in which they played monster movies over a 5 Hour block on Saturday afternoons.

WLVI Channel 56 Cambridge/Boston, Massachusetts TV had a soup du jour of great shows and movies.

But on Sunday afternoons, they ran classic movies and family programs and that’s when I first caught Willy Wonka.

I remember it so well.

It was a rainy and gloomy Sunday afternoon and I remember my mother singing the songs from the film when they came onscreen and was enraptured by its magic and imagination.

The colorful film jumping off the screen with glorious music and song touched my very soul.

Charlie, The Oompa Loompas and Wonka. 1971.

Filmed in 1971, at the height of musical comedies, the film Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory stood out from the rest in a most special way and remains timeless.

Gene Wilder’s role as Willy Wonka was — and still is — one of the most iconic in all of cinema.

There was something special about that film, and as a child, I desperately wanted to be Charlie, experiencing the marvels of the chocolate factory firsthand.

The movie and several incantations have been made over the years, but none of them even come close to magic of the original.

Gene Wilder (1933–2016) made the world laugh and sing. He will be sorely missed.

Unfortunately, in August of 2016, Wilder died at age 83 from Alzheimer’s disease complications.

But his magical ability to touch, amuse and entertain is his legacy left behind for the world.

The wonderful films he starred in are timeless and I will hold onto those performances, forever.

I enjoyed all his films and as I grew older, even more so.

Still, if you’re going to celebrate his life in any way re-watching the works of Gene Wilder, let it be by watching Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory.

That is undoubtedly his crown jewel film.

Specifically, the scene where he sings the iconic song, “Pure Imagination.”

Of all the songs and music from the films that I’ve seen over the years, Pure Imagination stands out as the greatest in film for me personally.

Nothing since has ever come close.

Pure Imagination.

The funniest thing about this iconic song, written by Leslie Bricusse and Anthony Newley is that at first, Gene Wilder didn’t want to sing the song for the film.

Now, it wasn’t because he didn’t think the song wasn’t good… it was !!

But it was the fact that Wilder thought and felt he was under qualified to give the song any justice as an artist by performing it.

Gene told the producers, (as seen in his documentary) that he did not think he could sing.

Well, it turns out not only can he sing… he can sing amazingly and Pure Imagination is the most remembered and iconic performance in his storied acting musical career.

Although he had rememberable roles in Young Frankenstein (74), four films with fellow comedy actor, Richard Pryor — Silver Streak (‘76), Stir Crazy (‘80), See No Evil, Hear No Evil (‘89), Another You (‘91) and Blazing Saddles(74)

— just to name a few off his full resume, it was Wonka that was Wilder’s most memorable.

Remembering Gene Wilder now on Netflix is a documentary about the life of the late actor.

This past week, had me thinking a lot of Gene Wilder a lot.

Right now on Netflix and Prime video they are showcasing all the films of Gene Wilder.

In addition, Remembering Gene Wilder, an American biographical documentary film about Wilder’s life and career, as well as his battle with Alzheimer’s disease is also available.

I caught it and it was an incredible experience and deep look into the life of the storied comedic genius of Gene Wilder.

It was directed by Ron Frank and executive produced by Julie Nimoy and David Knight.

Interestingly enough, Julie Nimoy is the daughter of the late Boston born actor Leonard Nimoy from Star Trek fame.

She also produced the special Remembering Leonard Nimoy after her father’s death in 2015.

The idea for the documentary film Remembering Gene Wilder stemmed from oddly enough, Wilder’s friendship with Leonard Nimoy, which began when Nimoy directed Wilder in Funny About Love, in 1990.

It’s an amazing in-depth peek into Wilder’s life, filled with stories of those who knew him, his films and filled with stories we haven’t heard or seen before.

I loved it, and can honestly say I have an even deeper sense of appreciation and love for the man that wore the funny hat and made us laugh.

Wilder… an American film icon.

It’s so amazing to think of all the classic actors that worked with Gene as well and it sounds off like a roster of the greatest comedian actors and actresses of the era, like Dom Delouise, his wife Gilda Radner, Mel Brooks and so many more.

But it was Richard Pryor who starred in four films with Wilder that had the best chemistry with him.

What a wonderful pairing that was as their comedy blend and joke timing was simply perfect in all the films they did together… especially Stir Crazy.

Gene Wilder’s films opposite Richard Pryor had a significant commercial impact and influence on the modern comedy cinema landscape.

Stir Crazy directed by the late Sidney Poitier, was a laugh riot and showcased Wilder and Pryor in one of the funniest films of the era.

The film, is about two unemployed friends who are given 125-year prison sentences after getting framed for a bank robbery.

While in prison they befriend other prison inmates and plan a breakout.

A recipe for disaster and pure insanity as far as the laughs are concerned.

It’s by far one of the funniest movies I’ve ever seen and the classic scene of “We Bad” still makes me laugh when I see it.

We Bad…

The duo would go on to do 2 more films as Silver Streak was their first appearance together, starting what would become a pairing like no other.

The films, mostly great were mere comedies without Gene Wilder in the lead role as he was just naturally funny and brought charm to each character he played.

The comedy films of Gene Wilder and Richard Pryor.

I highly recommend seeing the films he did with Pryor as they are filled to the brim with amazing humor and a fantastic performances by the late actors in the lead roles.

I also recommend watching the Netflix documentary as you’ll be surprised to find out little known facts and see rare footage with Gene and his family, friends and co-stars.

But be aware that in more than one occasion, you might shed a tear or two… it’s that touching.

I know I did.

I specifically love how they showed the Mel Brooks collaborations with Wilder, that I had been watching ever since I was a kid.

Some of the films of Gene Wilder.

I was amazed to find out after all these years, that it was in fact Gene Wilder who came up with Young Frankenstein and it was his brain child for a film with the late Peter Boyle as the monster- not Mel Brooks!

And to think… he was a replacement in Mel Brooks’ Blazing Saddles as well!!!

That still amazes me.

The documentary is filled with little known facts like this and so much more.

The documentary also touches upon Wilder’s experience with the director’s chair in addition to his acting accolades.

Wilder directed and wrote several of his own films, including The Woman in Red (1984) with his then wife, Gilda Radner.

Her 1989 death was devastating for Gene and dimmed his spirits as he struggled with her death from ovarian cancer.

It’s another great film, and I persuade you to check it out when you can.

Gilda Radner died 27 years before her husband Gene Wilder passed away this week.

Looking back, Gene Wilder just had that natural and innate ability to make people laugh.

You can just tell… and that’s what anyone who knew him would tell you.

That’s a great quality to have.

Every time I watched a movie he was in… my sides would bust out from laughing so hard.

I felt as though, I knew him in real life, he just had that kind of appeal.

For me as a fan, I loved his natural way to make people smile… and that he did in heaps… that’s what I think of when I think… Wilder.

The film, Willy Wonka received a 1972 Oscar nomination for Best Original Score, likely because of his performance — which appears not only in Gene’s legendary scene, but also plays and reprises during the film’s opening and closing credits symphonically.

I love that song… and it’s forever ingrained into my mind, heart and soul.

Boston-born Jack Albertson, Peter Ostrum and Gene Wilder — 1971.

When I was a kid, Wonka’s factory itself was beautiful and beyond magical as it embodied every kid’s imagination come to life with its sugar coated paradise filled with song and dance…

I can’t think of any other film that enraptured me more as a child and continues on to this day.

“We are the music makers and we are the dreamers of dreams.”

As for this little boy who’s grown into a man, Gene Wilder’s presence in film made a difference for me for embracing laughter, song and magic well into my life as staples of what is all that’s good in the world.

Gene Wilder was part of that reason… and I’m forever grateful for his presence in the world.

“He lived happily ever after…”

So I’ll miss you Gene, you made us laugh, you made us smile, you made us believe… and you left you mark on the world…

If you want to view paradise…Simply look around and view it. Anything you want to, do it… Want to change the world?… There’s nothing to it.”

You did Gene… you most definitely did.

Thank you, for that Golden Ticket of pure imagination and lifelong gift of laughter.

-CJ

⬇️ Please take a look below and check out my other articles, stories and podcasts!! — Thanks!!! — CJ 🚩⬇️

C.J. CardiacDrop ©️ 2024.

@cardiacdrop @theRundownCJ

--

--

C.J. CardiacDrop

Star Wars and film historian, Forever stuck in the 80’s. Avid Video Game, Cinema and Entertainment fan, author and podcaster. Follow me on Twitter @CardiacDrop