The Cold Cases of the I-70 Serial Killer

I used to live near the shop of the last victim

Cathy Coombs
5 min readJan 2, 2022

--

iStock.com/tupungato

I remember when a young woman was killed in a shopping center that wasn’t far from where I used to live almost 30 years ago. It was the Woodson Village Shopping Center in Raytown, Missouri which also wasn’t too far from access to Interstate 70 (I-70).

On May 7, 1992, Sarah Blessing, age 37, was working alone in a gift shop known as Store of Many Colors. A video store owner, Tim Hickman, saw a man cross the parking lot and walk past his store. Then he heard a gunshot. When he got to his front door, he watched the man disappear around the corner.

I kind of looked in through the door and I didn’t see anything. And I was calling ‘Ma’am, ma’am?’ And I stepped forward a couple more steps and then I saw her legs sticking out of the other room.

Sara Blessing was found in a pool of blood. Police believed her murder was connected to other shopping mall killings.

It’s important to keep these stories alive

You want to keep unsolved crimes alive in the hope that maybe someday they will be solved so there is a form of peace to the victims’ families.

In 1992 and 1993, along I-70 in the Midwest, there were possibly 8 murders and one…

--

--

Cathy Coombs

Writer, author, and importantly, kind human. I love stories that share history and the stories they give birth to. Website: https://cjcoombs.com/