Part 1: 🔮 An Overview of Emoji Domains

A Digital Marketer’s Guide to the Power of Emoji Domains

John Harrison
11 min readMay 16, 2017

👼 Emoji aren’t just for kids

On the same day, about a month ago, 2 emails stood out more than any others. One was from my dad and the other was from my accountant. Both of these men are in their late fifties and both of them included emoji in their messages to me for the first time.

My accountant was telling me to get some sleep as I often have the habit of emailing him questions at 03.00 in the morning. He used the ‘face with stuck-out tongue’ emoji 😛

Now you can own a single character emoji too!

Here’s a few up for sale:

⌚.ws 🚢.ws 🚚.ws 🇪🇺.ws 🔞.ws 🔑.ws 🦔.ws 🇸🇬.ws 🇩🇰.ws 🧕.ws 🧘.ws

My dad had stood on a wasp while answering the front door and greeted the postwoman with a 4 letter profanity beginning with the letter ‘f’. He was regaling the family with his wasp-horror story and signed off with the ‘smiling face with sunglasses’ emoji perhaps to show he’s cool with pain. Most of his emails now include that emoji at some point and he does wear the same style of sunglasses 😎

--

--

John Harrison

My thoughts on writing at johnharrison.io, Content Designer at wayhome.co.uk. Talk to me about #tintin, #longevity, and #bitcoin â‚¿